On Gallows Down: Place, Protest and Belonging (Hardback)
  • On Gallows Down: Place, Protest and Belonging (Hardback)
zoom

On Gallows Down: Place, Protest and Belonging (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£20.00
Hardback 256 Pages / Published: 07/10/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Shortlisted for the Richard Jeffries Award 2021

[A] wonderfully accurate, powerful and funny memoir of rural life Stephen Moss

It's ever so good. Political, passionate & personal. Robert Macfarlane (via Twitter)

I couldn't put it down! A must read! Dara McAnulty (via Twitter), author of The Diary of a Young Naturalist

An evocative and inspiring memoir Claire Fuller, author of Unsettled Ground and winner of Costa Novel Award 2021

Part nature writing, part memoir, On Gallows Down is an essential, unforgettable read for fans of Helen Macdonald, Melissa Harrison and Isabella Tree.

On Gallows Down is a powerful, personal story shaped by a landscape deeply loved; one that ripples and undulates with protest, change, hope - and the search for home.

From the girl catching the eye of the 'peace women' of Greenham Common to the young woman protesting the loss of ancient and beloved trees, and as a mother raising a family in tied and tenanted farm cottages on grand, country estates, this is the story of how Nicola came to write - as a means of protest. Of how she discovered the rich seam of resistance that runs through Newbury's people from the English Civil War to the Swing Riots and the battle against the Newbury Bypass, the hope she finds in the rewilding of Greenham Common after the military left, and the stories told by the landscapes of Watership Down, the gibbet perched high on Gallows Down and Highclere Castle.

Nature is indelibly linked to belonging for Nicola. She charts her story through the walks she takes with her children across the chalk hills of the North Wessex Downs, through the song of the nightingale and the red kites, fieldfares, skylarks and lapwings that accompany her; the badger cubs she watches at night; the velvety mole she discovers in her garden and the cuckoo, whose return she awaits.

On Gallows Down is about how Nicola came to realise that it is she who can decide where she belongs, for home is a place in nature and imagination, which must be protected through words and actions.

We are writing for our very lives and for those wild lives we share this one, lonely planet with.

Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781645021162
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 567 g
Dimensions: 229 x 153 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"From treetop protests at the Newbury Bypass to the grand Highclere Estate, On Gallows Down is that rare thing: nature writing as political as it is personal."-Melissa Harrison, author of The Stubborn Light of Things: A Nature Diary


"A powerful personal and political journey through place that charts the profound influence we have on nature, and that nature has on us."-Rob Cowen, author of Common Ground and The Heeding


"An evocative and inspiring memoir which touches on environmental protest, family, motherhood and most importantly, nature. Her passion for the natural world and especially birds, shines through in this wonderful book."-Claire Fuller, author of Unsettled Ground


"Nicola Chester deserves many readers. On Gallows Down is an impassioned study of a contested landscape, which interrogates our attitudes towards land stewardship, ownership and living in the right relationship with both human and other-than-human neighbours. Charged with love and fire, On Gallows Down is a beautiful exploration of a much-mapped, multi-faceted landscape."-Katharine Norbury, author of The Fish Ladder


"Chester's writing has a lovely elasticity, dancing between wonder, introspection and anger as she moves from the particular to the universal...She belongs to the disappearing English, rural working class, and is intent on handing this baton to her three children, who play a part in the book. Chester also explores the familiar tension between wanting to write and being needed at home. The heady ecstasy of time carved out alone, in nature. The scrabble to earn a precarious living, and the insecurities of occupying a tied cottage. The idea of 'home' lies at the heart of this fierce, beautifully written, immersive book about one's place within the landscape."-Tessa Boase, author of Etta Lemon: The Woman Who Saved the Birds


"Nicola's passionate and enduring love of nature shines through every single word, paragraph and page of this book, as she seamlessly weaves memoir with stories of the landscape in which she is so deeply rooted that it seems to speak through her. Powerful, enlightening, dazzling, hopeful, On Gallows Down is a rare and precious gem - to be savoured, not rushed, and returned to again and again. My words cannot do this book justice - it simply needs to be read."-Brigit Strawbridge Howard, author of the Wainwright-shortlisted Dancing with Bees

You may also be interested in...

Burn After Writing
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Our Queen Elizabeth
Added to basket
Taste
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Comfort Book
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Gloves Off
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Nothing But The Truth
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Ukraine Diaries
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Freezing Order
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Palace Papers
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Conversations on Love
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Putin
Added to basket
£30.00   £26.99
Hardback
Gloves Off
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Brothers in Arms
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Surrender
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Crying in H Mart
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Soul soothing and truly inspirational”

I love this book. Mrs Chester’s passion for her vibrant local landscape flutters up from every page through her beautiful prose and imagery then my heart rises with hers to sing with the sky larks.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.