Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Oliver Twist and the Mystery of Throate Manor (Paperback)
  • Oliver Twist and the Mystery of Throate Manor (Paperback)
zoom

Oliver Twist and the Mystery of Throate Manor (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 14/06/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
A thrilling 'Dickensian Whodunit' in which Oliver Twist, now a young man and a lawyer, assisted by his clerk Jack Dawkins (the Artful Dodger) tries to solve a series of brutal murders. Oliver Twist is a young man in his late twenties and employed as a solicitor. He has taken his old associate Jack Dawkins, aka the Artful Dodger, on as his clerk in attempt to civilise him and keep him out of trouble. Together they become embroiled in a dark and dangerous murder mystery. Throate Manor is the ancestral home of the Throate Family in Surrey. The latest incumbent of the line, the aged Sir Ebenezer, trapped in a loveless marriage to Lady Amelia, is being terrified by a night visitor, a sheeted apparition who appears in his bedroom, and warns him to remember his son. This does not refer to his legitimate offspring Jeremiah Throate, a reckless gambler and libertine, who is deeply in debt to Eugene Trench, a sinister figure in the Victorian underworld. The son to whom the apparition refers is an illegitimate child Sir Ebenezer fathered with a maidservant some twenty five years previously. Fear mixed with guilt prompts Sir Ebenezer to try and locate the son he has never known. He plans to alter his will to favour him. He contacts his solicitors, the firm of Gripewind and Biddle, for this purpose and they despatch Oliver Twist and Jack Dawkins to Throate Manor to attend to this business. Sir Ebenezer charges Oliver with the task of finding his lost son. The task is a perilous one leading to violence and murder before shocking revelations threaten to destroy them all. Bestselling crime author David Stuart Davies delivers a unique Victorian set mystery, reimagining some of Charles Dickens best loved characters in new and thrilling roles. Ideal for fans of Kim Newman, Mark Frost and the author's acclaimed Luther Darke series.

Publisher: Urbane Publications
ISBN: 9781911583547
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
A Christmas Railway Mystery
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
A Rising Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Traitors of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 18)
Added to basket
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Fire Court
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Murder of Harriet Monckton
Added to basket
The Glass Woman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Dark Fire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.