Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
  • Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
  • Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
  • Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
  • Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
  • Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
  • Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
  • Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
  • Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
  • Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)
zoom
Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback) Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback) Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback) Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback) Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback) Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback) Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback) Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)

Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda (Paperback)

(author)
£17.99
Paperback 608 Pages / Published: 01/06/2006
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 3-4 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

If you loved American Sniper you will love Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda. Award-winning journalist Sean Naylor, an eyewitness to the action, vividly portrays the fight for Afghanistan's most hostile battleground.

At dawn on March 2, 2002, the first major battle of the 21st Century began. Over 200 soldiers of the 101st Airborne and 10th Mountain Divisions flew into Afghanistan's Shahikot valley - and into the mouth of a buzz-saw. They were about to pay a bloody price for strategic, higher-level miscalculations that underestimated the enemy's strength and willingness to fight.

After the attacks of September 11, 2001, Coalition forces quickly toppled the Taliban regime from the seat of government. But, believing the war to be all but over, the Pentagon and US Central Command refused to commit the forces required to achieve total victory in Afghanistan. Instead, they delegated responsibility for fighting the war's biggest battle to a tangle of untested units thrown together at the last moment.

Then the world watched as Anaconda seemed to unravel.

Denied the extra infantry, artillery and close air support with which they trained to go to war, the soldiers of this airborne assault fought for survival in brutal high-altitude combat. Backed up by a small, but crucial, team of special forces, they were all that stood between the Coalition and a military disaster.

Perfect for fans of Black Hawk Down, Zero Dark Thirty, Chris Ryan, and Andy McNab.

About the author:
Sean Naylor is a senior writer for the Army Times. He has covered the Afghan mujahideen's war against the Soviets, and American military operations in Somalia, Haiti, Bosnia, Afghanistan, and Iraq. Named one of the 22 "unsung" influential print reporters in Washington by American Journalism Review in May 2002, he earned the White House Correspondents' Association's prestigious Edgar A. Poe Award for his coverage of Operation Anaconda.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141014579
Number of pages: 608
Weight: 145 g
Dimensions: 1 x 1 x 1 mm

You may also be interested in...

Ukraine Diaries
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Diary of a Young Girl
Added to basket
The English Civil War
Added to basket
1812
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Love and War in the Apennines
Added to basket
All the Countries We've Ever Invaded
Added to basket
Waterloo
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Opium War
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Dam Busters
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Napoleon the Great
Added to basket
All Hell Let Loose
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Berlin
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Battle of Britain
Added to basket
Dunkirk
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Bravo Two Zero
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Dispatches
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.