Nophek Gloss - The Graven (Paperback)
  • Nophek Gloss - The Graven (Paperback)
zoom

Nophek Gloss - The Graven (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 19/11/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'AN EXCEPTIONAL DEBUT . . . READS LIKE A BECKY CHAMBERS NOVEL CROSSED WITH FIREFLY' Michael Mammay, author of Planetside

'A SUCKER PUNCH TO THE SENSES . . . A KILLER STORY WITH REAL HEART AND SOUL' Alastair Reynolds

In this dark, dangerous, roller coaster of a debut, a young man sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across a breathtaking multiverse filled with aliens, mind-bending tech, and ships beyond his wildest imagining. Essa Hansen's is a bold new voice for the next generation of science fiction readers.

Caiden's planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

From one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction comes Nophek Gloss - an action-packed space adventure perfect for fans of Star Wars, Children of Time and The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet.

*Finalist for r/Fantasy Stabby Awards for Best Debut!*

One of the most highly praised science fiction debuts of the year:

'Gripping and inventive, Nophek Gloss will delight even as it breaks your heart' Megan E. O'Keefe, award-winning author of Velocity Weapon

'A strong, rollercoaster of a debut' Gareth L. Powell, author of The Embers of War

'Bursting with strange characters and powerful SF action' Rob Boffard, author of Adrift

'This is space opera firing on all cylinders, and a must-read' Jeremy Szal, author of Stormblood

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356515588
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 302 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An exceptional debut - one of the best I've read in years. The sheer imagination in this book is staggering . . . Reads like a Becky Chambers novel crossed with Firefly . . . With her first novel, Essa Hansen establishes herself as a force in the world of science fiction -- Michael Mammay, author of PLANETSIDE
Nophek Gloss is a sucker-punch to the senses, a delicious and delirious head-trip into an intricate, vivid and psychedelic cosmos of nested universes, exotic tech and gorgeously strange characters. Best of all, though, it's wrapped around a killer story with real heart and soul. -- Alastair Reynolds, author of REVENGER
Gripping and inventive, NOPHEK GLOSS will delight even as it breaks your heart -- Megan E. O'Keefe, award-winning author of VELOCITY WEAPON
A compelling sf story that will draw in and hold readers until the very last page ... Hansen's marvellous debut is a fast-paced, action-filled ride through the multiverse, introducing a complex found family of gender- and neurodiverse characters. * LIBRARY JOURNAL *
A far-flung kaleidoscope of stunning imagination, superb characters and truly alien aliens. This is space opera firing on all cylinders, and a must-read -- Jeremy Szal, author of STORMBLOOD
Bursting with strange characters and powerful SF action * Rob Boffard, author of ADRIFT *
A revenge plot leads mechanic Caiden across a multiverse populated by a colourful array of humanoid species in Hansen's wonderfully inventive debut . . . Space opera fans will be eager for the next instalment * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY *
A strong, rollercoaster of a debut -- Gareth L. Powell, author of THE EMBERS OF WAR
The Graven Trilogy kicks off with heart-rending loss, traumatic memories, fast-paced action, and stunning scientific concepts, with mercantile and political intrigues spanning manifold universes. Fans of Alastair Reynolds and Megan E. O'Keefe will want to try this * BOOKLIST *
Hard science fiction at its best, flush with rich themes and sharp innovation . . . Plus, this book is just so damn COOL * FANTASY BOOK REVIEW *
Fans of novels by Chambers, Scalzi, Szal or Tchaikovsky will love Nophek Gloss * JAKE IS READING *

You may also be interested in...

Dune
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Sensor
Added to basket
£15.99
Hardback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Wisdom of Crowds
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
What Abigail Did That Summer
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Not quite there yet.”

Nophek Gloss is a story about 14 year old Caiden who finds out that his world is not as small as he thought it was. The people of Caiden's world are property and once they have outlived their usefulness the whole... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A really promising start to a series”

"Nophek Gloss" is a decent story that's well-written and has some very good characters. However, thoughts of "Dune" and "The Walking Dead" hit me not very far into this book and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.