No Filter (Paperback)
  • No Filter (Paperback)
zoom

No Filter (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 13/07/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
This is the story of THAT SUMMER ... the one when everything changes. Emerald has grown up in a privileged world - the beloved daughter of a wealthy family, friends with all the right people, social media addict. But Emerald's family has secrets - and when Emerald finds her mum unconscious on the bathroom floor, no one can pretend any more. Now she's being packed off to stay with her grandma in Ireland while her mum recuperates and her dad just works and works and works. Grandma's big, lonely house is set back from the beach, and there's no phone signal or wifi. It's going to be a long summer ... Until she meets Liam. When you're falling in love, it's hard to tell someone everything. Even if you've got nothing to hide any more. And when secrets and lies are all you're used to, how do you deal with real love - brave and true - with no filter? The fresh, funny and poignant debut novel from Orlagh Collins, a bright new voice in YA fiction. Authentic, down to earth and sweepingly romantic all at once, No Filter is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408884515
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 254 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
My thirteen year old daughter devoured No Filter in 24 hours and then talked about it for days * Mariella Frostrup *
Warm, funny and insightful, and sure to give you all the feels, this is a novel full of charm and heart. One that I had to wrestle out of the hands of my teenage daughter and her friends to read! * Rowan Coleman *
This debut novel is an outstanding rites-of-passage story * Irish Examiner *
Louise O'Neill meets Romeo and Juliet * Irish Examiner *
Summer romance with an edge * Irish Independent *
Vibrant characterisation, seaside setting and summer romance * Irish Times *
No Filter is an engaging story of first love and family secrets, with characters who develop as you read. It's a promising debut from Orlagh Collins, who provides a fresh voice in a busy market. I look forward to reading what she writes next. * The Bookbag *
This was such an authentic-feeling tale, inspired by and evoking the feelings of first love and the reckless teenage spirit. Two people are depicted strengthening both themselves and their bond by overcoming the struggles that dominate their lives and finding out who they really are on the other side of it. This is a book about learning to find your way in the world and it captures the essence of that, perfectly - no filters needed. * United by Pop *
No Filter is a perfect summer read, bringing to life the teenage experience with biting honesty and well timed humour as well as featuring a refreshing take on the teenage romance which young adult readers will undoubtedly enjoy. The novel though, makes some striking comments about our social culture which elevates it from poolside reading to a poignant and timely exploration of our fascination with social media and the pursuit of `perfection' in today's culture...A thoroughly recommended read. * Literature Works *
This moving, funny, life-affirming tonic is as satisfying as a long glass of iced lemonade on a sultry afternoon. That special sensation of spending a summer falling in love - of dusk picnics on the beach, of stealing away to uninhabited spaces - is captured in all its giddy, weak-at-the-knees gloriousness * LoveReadingForKids *
Orlagh Collins describes first love with a memorable intensity, and readers will be rapt. * Books for Keeps *
Growing up is just as much about finding your own feet as it is about finding love, and Collins imbues the scenes between Liam and Emerald and their families with a tenderness that is just as touching as those between the two main characters.This is a love letter to a technological generation. It has heart, it asks hard questions, and it explores what it means to be in love at a time when imperfections can be easily airbrushed out of our lives. No Filter is a heartwarming, touching YA novel that you should definitely give a go- even if you are, like me, out of your teens. * Roaring Bookworm *

You may also be interested in...

The Miseducation of Cameron Post
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
City of Ghosts
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
INK
Added to basket
INK
£7.99
Paperback
Catwoman: Soulstealer (DC Icons series)
Added to basket
Thirteen Reasons Why
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
More Than This
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Boy
Added to basket
Boy
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Trouble with Perfect
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Added to basket
The Hurting
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
Clean
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.