Nina is Not OK (Paperback)
  • Nina is Not OK (Paperback)
zoom

Nina is Not OK (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 09/02/2017
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn't?

Nina's mum isn't so sure. But she's busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina's almost an adult after all.

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina's drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can't help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her...

A dark, funny - sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UK's leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

Publisher: Ebury Publishing
ISBN: 9781785031373
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 239 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Shappi Khorsandi is both funny and shocking, yet above all writes with warmth, giving Nina an intelligent voice. This girl could be you, or your daughter, or your friend, and I defy anyone not to love the endearing, messed-up Nina as she finds her way out of an alcohol-fuelled hell of her own making. * Daily Mail *
dark and funny...brilliant * Simon Mayo *
It's absolutely bloody magnificent -- Marian Keyes
Breathtakingly honest and laugh-out-loud funny... perfectly captures the anxieties of youth * Red Magazine *
Khorsandi pulls no punches in her first novel...Equal parts straight-talking, funny and worrying, this is a coming-of-age tale rebooted for the era of social media and slut-shaming. * Glamour Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Narrow Door
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A brilliant, brutal roller-coaster!”

Well Nina is definitely NOT ok!
What a roller coaster of emotions in this book. I was by turns sad, horrified, scared and worried as Nina's life spirals out of control into addiction. Written with compassion,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 38
SJ2B House of Books

“Nina Is Not Ok ... Nina Will Be Ok ? ... Loved it !”

big !

Sometimes an author can get writing about troubled teens so wrong. For instance, characters are written to be way too angsty and antagonistic with explicit, and sometimes laughable sex scenes, and using a... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 37

“Painfully real slice of teen life”

Given the plot outline – Nina is a 17-year-old who is sure she doesn’t have a drinking problem; even though she does things she regrets while drunk; even though her father was an alcoholic; even though she needs to... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.