Find your perfect holiday reading
Nightlights - Nightlights 1 (Paperback)
  • Nightlights - Nightlights 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Nightlights - Nightlights 1 (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 56 Pages / Published: 01/03/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Every night, tiny stars appear out of the darkness in Sandy's bedroom. Sandy catches them and creates wonderful creatures to play with until she falls asleep, and in the morning brings them back to life in the whimsical drawings that cover her room. One day, a mysterious pale girl called Morfie appears at school and is fascinated by Sandy's drawings in a way that no one else has been before. But there is a price to pay for this new friendship... 'Scary, strange and wondrous stuff, its terror heightened by its luminous, polychromatic beauty' - The Guardian Selected by the Junior Library Guild - will be sent out to libraries across the US. Selected as a 2017 Best Book for Kids by the New York Public Library.

Publisher: Nobrow Ltd
ISBN: 9781910620571
Number of pages: 56
Dimensions: 279 x 220 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION Readers will cheer [...] The beings that inhabit Sandy's nighttime world are simply delightful. The album size, cloth spine binding, and spot gloss on the cover are the icing on the cake of this beautiful graphic novel. --Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW Alvarez's artwork is gorgeous, alternating between traditional panels and, in the dream sequences, vibrant spreads that spill from page to page with grace and fluidity. Reminiscent of the charming, cheeky protagonist of Luke Pearson's "Hilda" books, Sandy is a rosy-cheeked, pigtailed delight, solving her problems with cunning and?coolest of all?math. Readers will want to pore over this book and its many picturesque details again and again. Perhaps those who frequently find themselves with their heads in the clouds will see a little of themselves in Sandy, whose power to build new worlds will inspire others to make their own dreams come true. [...] How is this not on your shelf yet? Every library should have this gorgeous first purchase. --School Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW Colombian illustrator Alvarez has achieved something special and unforgettable with her first authorial outing. --The Bulletin of The Center For Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW This delightfully unsettling tale is told with humor and imagination and is illustrated with jewel-like panels and lots of white space. There are rewarding details to be found in every scene, especially in the lush landscapes, both real and imagined, and in the drawings within drawings. [...] Young readers, especially young artists, will gobble this up. --The New York Times [...] Alvarez's stunning, Miyazaki-like illustrations are jaw-dropping. [...] the sumptuous artwork, from the velvety palette to the invitingly rounded figures, is a pleasure to age at. Let's hope there's more where this came from. --Booklist Nightlights is scary, strange and wondrous stuff, its terror heightened by its luminous, polychromatic beauty. --The Guardian A sumptuously coloured, beautifully presented metaphor for the triumph of creativity and imagination in overcoming darkness and despair. --Broken Frontier Nightlights is a stunning, richly-detailed ode to the power of creativity to triumph over loneliness and self-doubt. With gorgeous illustrations that evoke the fantastic imagination of Miyazaki, Gomez builds an enchanting story full of sylphs, school troubles, and one adorable, pigtailed heroine. LOVE! --Hannah DeCamp, Avid Bookshop Mesmerizing, mystical, magnificent and everything I have come to expect and love from NoBrow from the epic illustrations to the definitively whimsical yet edgy story. --Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Wandering Bookseller A young artist makes friends with a ghost, but at what price? This is the perfect graphic novel for fans of Miyazaki or Neil Gaiman's Coraline. Alvarez's art is spectacular, combining lush colors with a level of detail that readers will want to revisit again and again. --Cecilia Cackley, Hooray For Books! Nightlights is a gorgeous parable by Lorena Alvarez. [....] it is absolutely beautiful. --Comics Worth Reading Alvarez ability to balance panel and page compositions give the book a pleasing feel, even as she creates tension in various ways. --Rob Clough's High-Low Nightlights by Lorena Alvarez might be one of the most beautiful comic books that I have read in a long time. Nobrow Press clearly saw the potential with this brilliant creator and have published an oversized comic book that does justice to the art within. My breath was taken away time and time again as I was drawn through the story. [...] The colour palettes that Alvarez uses to bring the illustrations to life are stunning and vibrant, and her style itself reminds me of the early days of Disney concept art by the likes of Mary Blair. --Rogues Portal

You may also be interested in...

The King in Yellow
Added to basket
A Scanner Darkly
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Saga Volume 2
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
Death Note: L, Change the World
Added to basket
Black Butler, Vol. 2
Added to basket
Scott Pilgrim vs The World
Added to basket
Fear Itself
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
Batman
Added to basket
£19.99
Paperback
Death Note: Another Note (Novel)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Preacher Book One
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
From Hell
Added to basket
£24.99
Paperback
Watchmen International Lenticular Edition
Added to basket
Adventure Time: Fionna & Cake
Added to basket
Secret Invasion
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.