New Kid (Paperback)
  • New Kid (Paperback)
zoom

New Kid (Paperback)

(author,illustrator)
£8.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 21/02/2019
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

A New York Times bestseller! Winner of the 2019 Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds-and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062691194
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 544 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Funny, sharp, and totally real! Jordan Banks is the kid everyone will be talking about!" -- Jeff Kinney, Author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid
"Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year." -- Booklist (starred review)
"An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"This is more than a story about being the new kid-it's a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers. Highly recommended for all middle grade shelves." -- School Library Journal (starred review)
"This engaging story offers an authentic secondary cast and captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Award-winning author/illustrator Jerry Craft confronts elitism, microaggression, racism, socioeconomic disparity and white privilege in a familiar setting. His preteen audiences will undoubtedly recognize and empathize with Craft's memorable cast." -- Shelf Awareness, (starred review)
"Craft's full-color comics art is dynamic and expressive. This school story stands out as a robust, contemporary depiction of a preteen navigating sometimes hostile spaces yet staying true to himself thanks to friends, family, and art." -- Horn Book Magazine
"Genuine characters propel this funny, warm, biting, fearless story. Entertaining and insightful, it will surely offer affirmation for some readers, revelation for others." -- Cooperative Children's Book Center
"New Kid is at once tender and tough, funny and heartbreaking. Hand this to the middle-grade reader in your life right away." -- The New York Times Book Review
"An honest and compelling read for any kid looking for a place to belong." -- Scholastic Teacher Magazine

You may also be interested in...

Oi Duck-billed Platypus!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Next
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Teachers
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
I've Broken My Bum (PB)
Added to basket
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Dinky Donkey (PB)
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Wrecking Ball
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Snail and the Whale Festive Edition
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Beast of Buckingham Palace
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Girl Who Stole an Elephant
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.