Never the Wind (Paperback)
  • Never the Wind (Paperback)
zoom

Never the Wind (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 07/06/2022
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Gothic, haunting and uniquely powerful, Dimitri's lushly evocative fantasy focuses on the recently-blind Luca and his pursuit across the Southern Italian landscape by the sinister Wanderer.

A bittersweet gothic fantasy of family, friendship, memory, and the uncanny told from the perspective of a blind teenager in Puglia, Southern Italy, set in the same world as The Book of Hidden Things, perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman, Donna Tartt and Haruki Murakami.

Praise God, never the wind.

1996 - Luca Saracino is thirteen and has been completely blind for eight months when his parents move to a Southern Italian farmhouse they dream of turning into a hotel. With his brother dropping out of university and the family reeling from Luca's diagnosis, they are chasing dreams of rebirth and reinvention.

As Luca tells his story without sight - experiencing the world solely through hearing, smell, taste and touch - he meets the dauntless Ada Guadalupi, who takes him out to explore the rocky fields and empty beaches. But Luca and Ada find they can't escape the grudges that have lasted between their families for generations, or the gossiping of the town. And Luca is preyed upon by the feral Wanderer, who walks the vineyards of his home.

As Luca's family starts to crack at the seams, Luca and Ada have to navigate new lands and old rivalries to uncover the truths spoken as whispers on the wind.

Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781789099812
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Never the Wind:

'It's a ghost story and a love story, full of life and passion, and knowledge. It's a wonderful book.' - Aliya Whiteley, award-winning author of Skyward Inn

'Francesco Dimitri has set himself what would be a daunting challenge for any writer, and he has risen to that challenge with aplomb. The result is beautiful and life-affirming and profound, and I am more than a little in awe. Dimitri is a phenomenon. Read this book. Read it now!' - A. J. Elwood, author of The Cottingley Cuckoo

You may also be interested in...

Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Atlas Six
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
The Shadow of the Gods
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
These Violent Delights
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Eye Of The World
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Daughter of the Moon Goddess
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
House of Sky and Breath
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
Sistersong
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Wild and Wicked Things
Added to basket
Vivienne O'Regan

“A haunting gothic fantasy told from a unique perspective”

“When my tale becomes too dark, just bear in mind that I survived to tell it: I survived the summer of ’96, the savage season in which Ada Guadalupi and I trespassed into another world. It was a miracle – I use the... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.