Nest: The art of birds (Paperback)
  • Nest: The art of birds (Paperback)
zoom

Nest: The art of birds (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 192 Pages / Published: 03/07/2014
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

We tend to take birds for granted, in the landscape or in our neighbourhoods. The presence of birds communicates the health of a place. When they're gone, it's as though there's a hole in the sky, in the air, an absence of beauty and grace, and vivid chatter or haunting cries are replaced with eerie silence.

As an amateur naturalist and nature lover, Janine Burke, art historian and author, has spent many years observing birds. Nest is the story of her passion, a personal, wide-ranging and intimate book - part natural history, part folklore, part exploration of art and aesthetics, part memoir - that will appeal to all those who love nature, literature and art.

What are nests if not art created by nature? If a nest is not art, how can we account for those exquisite, painstakingly constructed creations that are decorated, or woven through with feathers, or studded with objects of a particular colour or sheen? Nest reveals both the art and mystery found in nature and celebrates them with lyricism, insight and great affection.

In the tradition of Longitude, Cod or The Cello Suites, Nest is a short education that encompasses celebration and theory, investigation and memoir, the familiar and the revelatory - as surprising and enticing as any beautiful, intricately constructed nest.

Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781760110895
Number of pages: 192
Weight: 267 g
Dimensions: 218 x 138 x 16 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
A pacey, perceptive and engaging read. The anecdotes, observations, literary references and illustrations are insightful. * Sydney Morning Herald *
An elegant and unexpectedly engrossing journey through the lives of birds... Nest, Burke writes, is a word that "conjures fundamental notions of home, family, privacy, shelter and rest." Her book alights intelligently and compassionately on each of these ideas, and between its pages the reader is given pause to gaze up at the sky and marvel at the pelicans or sparrows flying overhead. * The Age *

You may also be interested in...

Seashaken Houses
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lost Words
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
RSPB Pocket Guide to British Birds
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Down in the Valley
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Private Life of the Hare
Added to basket
Weratedogs 2020 Day-to-Day Calendar
Added to basket
£12.00   £5.99
Calendar
The Wisdom of Wolves
Added to basket
The Twelve Birds of Christmas
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Lost Ocean Postcard Edition
Added to basket
£12.98   £6.49
Hardback
How to Stay Alive
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Yoga Cats 2020 Square Wall Calendar
Added to basket
Yoga Dogs 2020 Square Wall Calendar
Added to basket
Goats in Trees 2020 Square Wall Calendar
Added to basket
The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
Mudlarking
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
The Almanac
Added to basket
£10.00
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.