Nemesis - The Protector (Paperback)
  • Nemesis - The Protector (Paperback)
zoom

Nemesis - The Protector (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 10/06/2021
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Mickey Bale, a Met close protection officer, wants revenge on the mafia family who killed his sister. First in The Protector, a gripping British thriller series from Anthony Riches.

'Nemesis is a full-throttle adventure' ANDY McNAB

'Fast-moving... The Bill meets Jack Reacher' THE TIMES Thriller of the Month

They killed his sister. Now he'll kill them all.

Mickey Bale is an elite close protection officer. That's why the Met police has given him the toughest job of all: guarding the Minister of Defence at a moment when Chinese-British relations have hit a deadly boiling point.

And when Mickey's life isn't on the line for his work, he's taking his chances waging war on a powerful London gang family. Their dealer supplied a lethal ecstasy pill to his sister, and Mickey is determined to take them down, one at a time.

But will he get away with it - or will his colleagues in the force realise that the man on an underworld killing spree is one of their own?

'Nemesis is a full-throttle adventure that twists and turns from the corridors of power to London's gangland underbelly, propelled by a hero with a thirst for vengeance and the skillset to execute it' Andy McNab

'Nemesis kicks like a 12-bore shotgun... A British thriller to rival Reacher' Giles Kristian

'Mickey Bale is a Jack Reacher for a harder, faster, more assured millennium. Nemesis is the kind of book for which the word 'compelling' was coined' Manda Scott

'Meet Mickey Bale - London's John Wick. A rocket-propelled grenade of a book, shot through with gallows humour. Guy Ritchie meets Lee Child' Robyn Young

'This may be Riches' first contemporary-set novel but he throws his protagonist into a gladiatorial climax worthy of Ancient Rome' Shots

Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781801100106
Number of pages: 448
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A full-throttle adventure that twists and turns from the corridors of power to London's gangland underbelly, propelled by a hero with a thirst for vengeance and the skillset to execute it' -- Andy McNab
Fast-moving... The Bill meets Jack Reacher' * The Times, Thriller of the Month *
'Meet Mickey Bale - London's John Wick. A rocket-propelled grenade of a book, shot through with gallows humour. Guy Ritchie meets Lee Child' -- Robyn Young
'Mickey Bale is a Jack Reacher for a harder, faster, more assured millennium. Nemesis is the kind of book for which the word 'compelling' was coined' -- Manda Scott
Nemesis kicks like a 12-bore shotgun... A British thriller to rival Reacher' -- Giles Kristian
'This may be Anthony Riches' first contemporary-set novel but he throws his protagonist into a gladiatorial climax worthy of Ancient Rome' * Shots Magazine *
A proper no-nonsense thrill ride that grabs your attention and rewards it with an endorphin rush... Anthony Riches is better known as a writer of historical fiction, I've never read any of his Roman adventures but given the action he gets into a contemporary tale of a London copper with a personal agenda I can only imagine they are full on too. Mickey gets through a lot of work here but he's not done yet - I'll be waiting for part two next year' * NB Magazine *
Nemesis is the prolific Anthony Riches' first move away from historical thrillers into a contemporary setting. Mickey Bale is an excellent protagonist - a man whose job relies on his ability to blend into the background, toe whatever line he's told to follow, and do whatever it takes to keep his principal safe... A tense thriller that was able to grab my attention and keep me reading' * Crime Review *

You may also be interested in...

A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
Two Nights in Lisbon
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Ascension
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Saboteurs
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sooley
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Tide
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Secret Service
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
With A Mind to Kill
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
White Eagles Over Serbia
Added to basket
The Whistleblower
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Storm Tide
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Judge's List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Wow, this is one fast paced read”

This is my first read by this author and I started it with no expectations and thought the premise looked like my kind of read.

Wow, this was one rollercoaster of a read. Mickey Bales younger sister dies and when... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Thriller with pace”

This is definitely one for fans of Stephen Leather and Simon Kernick, a fast paced thriller with plenty of action.
Anthony Riches is well known for his excellent Roman novels (well worth catching up on if you haven’t... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“An action packed and thrilling read”

I love a good spy/ thriller novel, so you can probably understand why the synopsis for ‘Nemesis’ really did scream ‘read me’ at me. It sounded right up my street. I couldn’t wait to get started so I grabbed a cup of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.