Ts&Cs apply
Needlemouse (Paperback)
  • Needlemouse (Paperback)
zoom

Needlemouse (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 27/06/2019
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Time to come out of hibernation...

Sylvia Penton has been hibernating for years, it's no wonder she's a little prickly...

Sylvia lives alone, dedicating herself to her job at the local university. On weekends, she helps out at a local hedgehog sanctuary because it gives her something to talk about on Mondays - and it makes people think she's nicer than she is.

Only Sylvia has a secret: she's been in love with her boss, Professor Lomax, for over a decade now, and she's sure he's just waiting for the right time to leave his wife. Meanwhile she stores every crumb of his affection and covertly makes trouble for anyone she feels gets in his way.

But when a bright new PhD candidate catches the Professor's eye, Sylvia's dreams of the fairy tale ending she has craved for so long, are soon in tatters, driving her to increasingly desperate measures and an uncertain future.

Sylvia might have been sleep walking through her life but things are about to change now she's woken up...

A quirky, charming uplifting novel perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and Sarah Haywood's The Cactus. The feelgood bestseller about unrequited love, loneliness and the redemptive qualities of hedgehogs featuring the most unlikely heroine of 2019.

________________________________

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING

'An eccentrically heartwarming tale of steeping out of your comfort zone. I was rooting for Sylvia' - Lottie, Netgalley

'I was charmed by this tale. A feel-good book' - Heather, Netgalley

'A lovely story with delightful characters. Would highly recommend, especially if you are a fan of Ruth Hogan and Gail Honeyman' - Mary, Netgalley

'An absolutely superb novel about someone who is dissatisfied with her life but feels it's difficult to change. I would highly recommend to anyone who likes a quirky novel to entertain them' - Sue, Netgalley

'Oh how I adored this book which is reminiscent of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine' - Justine, Netgalley

'I like a book that makes me feel uplifted, that soothes the soul, and this book certainly did that. Sylvia is definitely one of my favourite fictional characters' - Joanne, Netgalley

Publisher: Ebury Publishing
ISBN: 9781529103281
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 239 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 21 mm

You may also be interested in...

V2
Added to basket
V2
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Starve Acre
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ready Player Two
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Confession
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ghosts
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback

“Uplifting and wonderful”

For some reason I kept putting off reading this book as I thought it was going to be a bit twee and schmaltzy and I was never in the right mood. I wish now I'd left it even longer as I would still have a great... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“A quick, quirky read”

Sylvia has a some might say 'unhealthy' obsession with her boss.  For the past 15 years she has delighted in every tiny part of her working week that she gets to spend with him in meetings and takes great... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“For fans of Eleanor...”

I'm a little bit conflicted by this, the whole premise works quite well but I just found Sylvia to be so unlikeable. She was so bitter and twisted, and so thoroughly unpleasant to other people. It didn't... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.