Nature Is Never Silent: how animals and plants communicate with each other (Hardback)
  • Nature Is Never Silent: how animals and plants communicate with each other (Hardback)
zoom

Nature Is Never Silent: how animals and plants communicate with each other (Hardback)

(author), (translator)
£14.99
Hardback 240 Pages
Published: 14/10/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

For readers of Entangled Life and The Hidden Life of Trees, a fascinating journey into the world of plants and animals, and the ways they communicate with each other.

In forests, fields, and even gardens, there is a constant exchange of information going on. Animals and plants must communicate with one another to survive, but they also tell lies, set traps, talk to themselves, and speak to each other in a variety of unexpected ways.

Here, behavioural biologist Madlen Ziege reveals the fascinating world of nonhuman communication. In charming, humorous, and accessible prose, she shows how nature's language can help us to understand our own place in the natural world a little better.

Publisher: Scribe Publications
ISBN: 9781913348243
Number of pages: 240
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'It's always amazing how talkative nature is - very enlightening and entertaining!'

* Peter Wohlleben, author of The Hidden Life of Trees *

'In accessible language [Ziege] reports on fascinatingly clever chemical communication among bacteria; tells how wild rabbits coordinate and how badgers warn their enemies ... Mushrooms set traps, fish lie, and fox and fir tree say goodnight. Illuminating brain food.'

* OOE news *

'Communication between animals and plants takes on a whole new dimension.'

* Mittagzmagazin *

'In the forest and in your own garden, things are ... anything but quiet and calm, as Madlen Ziege, in a light and entertaining way, and using astonishing scientific knowledge, shows us.'

* Kronen Zeitung *

'Ziege has an engaging style, and, for a book dealing with difficult concepts, Nature Is Never Silent makes for a pleasurable read ... The author includes some of her own charming black and white illustrations - some people are just too talented! I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who has listened to birds in the bush, and wondered what the sounds mean.'

-- Penelope Cottier * The Canberra Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs
Added to basket
The Almanac: A Seasonal Guide to 2023
Added to basket
Birds
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
RSPB Pocket Guide to British Birds
Added to basket
Silent Earth
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Book of Trespass
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Overstory
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Rainbow Grey
Added to basket
Next to Nature
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
The Golden Mole
Added to basket
Otherlands
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Wild
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Islands of Abandonment
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Life on Our Planet
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Rainbow Grey: Battle for the Skies
Added to basket
The Hidden Life of Trees
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.