Mysteries at Sea: Peril on the Atlantic - Mysteries at Sea (Paperback)
  • Mysteries at Sea: Peril on the Atlantic - Mysteries at Sea (Paperback)
  • Mysteries at Sea: Peril on the Atlantic - Mysteries at Sea (Paperback)
  • Mysteries at Sea: Peril on the Atlantic - Mysteries at Sea (Paperback)
  • Mysteries at Sea: Peril on the Atlantic - Mysteries at Sea (Paperback)
zoom
Mysteries at Sea: Peril on the Atlantic - Mysteries at Sea (Paperback) Mysteries at Sea: Peril on the Atlantic - Mysteries at Sea (Paperback) Mysteries at Sea: Peril on the Atlantic - Mysteries at Sea (Paperback)

Mysteries at Sea: Peril on the Atlantic - Mysteries at Sea (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 03/08/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Emma Carroll and Natasha Farrant, the rollicking first instalment of Howell's maritime adventure series finds young Alice enmeshed in sabotage, espionage and dangerous secrets aboard the Queen Mary.

Shortlisted for the CrimeFest Best Crime Fiction for Children Award 2024

A twisty and heart-pounding mystery at sea, from award-winning A.M. Howell.

July, 1936. As the Queen Mary sets sail across the Atlantic, Alice can't wait for the summer of adventure that lies ahead. She's excited to explore the huge ship, with its shops, animals and even celebrities on board.

But while Alice's sailor father focuses on winning a prestigious race, she witnesses a shocking attack. Alice and her new friend Sonny start to uncover a dark sabotage plot, and as they investigate gold bars, anonymous notes and lost silk gloves, secrets in their own lives come to the surface.

When fog threatens the boat's journey, and dangerous enemies show themselves, Alice and Sonny are in their own race to solve all the mysteries unfolding. But what they discover might change both their lives forever.

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
ISBN: 9781801316743
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A thoroughly modern thriller, in which the characters are drawn with psychological acuity, and Alice's uncertain relationship with her father forms one of the most intriguing narrative threads. And as with Howell's previous books, our plucky heroine endears herself to the modern reader by riding roughshod over gender stereotypes. - Daily Telegraph

An exquisitely plotted nautical adventure, packed with mystery and derring-do. - Judith Eagle, author of The Accidental Stowaway

Will appeal to fans of the Adventures on Train series. - The Bookseller

This new series kicks off aboard the RMS Queen Mary in 1936. Witnessing an attack draws Alice into a mystery, and soon she uncovers secrets within her own family. - Sunday Express

An exciting story with treachery, secrets and danger. - Books for Keeps

A high-octane nautical adventure, brimming over with secrets and sabotage, and the most wonderful crew of characters you could hope for. I could feel the sway & taste the sea spray. Really marvellous. This is the first in a new series & I can't wait to set sail again. - Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild

I was riveted from port to starboard, bow to stern by this brilliant book. Absolutely unputdownable and I'm already looking forward to the next! - Zillah Bethell, author of The Shark Caller

Brilliant story which kept me gripped until the very end! - Ewa Jozefkowicz, author of The Dragon in the Bookshop

A thrilling, sea-salted adventure on the ocean wave in the fi rst book of twisting, turning and heart-pounding newseries from A.M. Howell, one of middle grade's most exciting authors. - Lancashire Evening Post

You may also be interested in...

Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
A Mind Full of Murder
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Howl’s Moving Castle
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Chalice of the Gods
Added to basket
Skandar and the Chaos Trials
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Skandar and the Chaos Trials
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback

“A sinister plot aboard a luxury ship sets up readers for the adventure of a lifetime!”

Diving into this children's crime novel, I didn't expect to discover such a world of mystery,
suspense and drama all aboard one single ship! This books draws you in straight away, leaving you unable to stop... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Luxury ship, attempted murder, a plot against the ship, friends and family”

Thanks to Usborne for this ARC, the books final release date is 3 August. Was excited to get this because have really enjoyed AM Howell books that I've read so far. Plus the previous ones have been based around... More

Paperback edition
9 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Falls neatly into the glorious collection of crime novels for young readers...”

There seems to be a ‘new’, well I suppose a not so new now, genre of Children’s Crime novels. This falls neatly into that glorious collection of books that includes M G Leonard’s phenomenal Adventures on Trains and of... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: