My Pear-Shaped Life (Hardback)
  • My Pear-Shaped Life (Hardback)
zoom

My Pear-Shaped Life (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 16/04/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
'This book has given me life' Trish Hannon, reader review

This is a joyful, uplifting book to remind us how strong we are...no matter how pear-shaped life gets!

'Original, funny, moving and brutally honest...perfect for fans of Ruth Jones' Debbie Johnson

'This upbeat romance will leave you smiling' Daily Mirror

'So many women will find this book speaks to them. It makes you laugh and cry but it is truly inspiring' Katie Fforde

'Sweet, sad, insightful and joyful - this book pressed all the emotion buttons and I'm so glad it did' Milly Johnson

'Uplifting and powerful...I LOVED it' Cathy Kelly

'Warm, moving and life-affirming...Greta is a gorgeous character that you will fall in love with' Sinead Moriarty

'Be more Greta' Woman's Way

Meet Greta.

She's funny.

She's flawed.

She's hiding so much behind her big smile she's forgotten who she is.

But Greta is about to discover that the key to being happy is...being yourself.

Greta Gale has played the part of the funny fat one her entire life, hiding her insecurities behind a big smile. But size doesn't matter when you can laugh at yourself, right?
Until Greta realises she's the only one not laughing. And deep down, she's not sure if she'll ever laugh again.

But Greta is about to discover that sometimes the best moments in life come when it's all gone a bit pear-shaped...

Everyone loves Greta:

'Poignant and profound, warm and witty, Carmel's brilliant writing invites us to look beyond the smiley face to the complex tangle of emotions inside us all. I absolutely adored it'
Sunday Times bestseller Cathy Bramley

'Warm, engrossing storytelling at its best'
Irish Times bestseller Sheila O'Flanagan

'I bloody loved it. Funnny, heart-wrenching and uplifting all in one'
Beth Reekles, author The Kissing Booth

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008389369
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 430 g
Dimensions: 204 x 135 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'There's something about Greta we can all relate to, and her story has, perhaps, never been more relevant or important. This is a novel full of heart, wisdom, and courage, and you're in for a real treat!'
New York Times bestseller Hazel Gaynor

'Greta is Everywoman, laugh, love and cry with her. I truly couldn't stop reading. A beautiful, tender and joyful story.' Sunday Times bestseller Susan Lewis

'Funny, warm, heartbreaking - and so real and honest, it made me squirm in recognition at times. You've never met a heroine quite like Greta Gale and you are going to LOVE her'
USA Todaybestseller Catherine Ryan Howard

'Move over Bridget Jones, step aside Little Miss Sunshine because Greta Gale has landed! Greta is as real as women come'
Caroline Grace-Cassidy

Carmel Harrington is a natural storyteller ... with heart, humour & hope. RTE

Heartwarming humour, with tears, laughter & friendship. Immensely enjoyable.
IRISH TIMES

Will make you see life in a different way. WOMAN'S WAY

Convincing characters, always gripping, endearing, with a cracking pace.
IRISH INDEPENDENT

Heartwarming & Heartbreaking. EVENING HERALD

A nuanced read, but at its heart, warm. SUNDAY INDEPENDENT

A popular voice in Irish publishing, often compared to the beloved Maeve Binchy, Harrington focuses her books on relationships, with a strong emotional overlay.
LIBRARY JOURNAL REVIEW

Her books are like a hug, they envelop you ... clever, finely honed, they make you think & make you grateful. IRELAND AM BOOK CLUB

An uplifting, relevant must-read. IMAGE MAGAZINE

Heartwarming & emotional. IRISH COUNTRY MAGAZINE

Get your tissues ready! BEST MAGAZINE

Touching, heart-aching, yet feel good read, full of love & humour. LOVEREADING.CO.UK

Quietly brilliant, will make you cry, laugh & cry all over again. FEMALE FIRST MAGAZINE

One of Ireland's most talked about female authors. THE IRISH WORLD

You may also be interested in...

Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mrs England
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Unsettled Ground
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
No One Is Talking About This
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Secret History
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Good read with strong theme of learning to love yourself.”

Greta is not perfect - she’s overweight, her career doesn’t appear to be going anywhere and her relationships with her mum and dad are tricky. She also struggles to get enough sleep and becomes addicted to sleeping... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Learning to love yourself!”

Meet Greta, or Big G, as she’s called by her family. Her family don’t realise just how unhappy she is with her weight and how it makes her feel. She laughs along with people’s banter but she feels worthless, even... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“An enjoyable exploration of the importance of self-acceptance.”

I thoroughly enjoyed this story of Greta Gale and the highs and lows of trying to learn to value yourself. The author writes empathetically about addiction, body issues and familial relationships. As a reader, I was... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.