My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything (Paperback)
  • My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything (Paperback)
zoom

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 21/09/2017
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Addie thinks she knows everything about her mother. But when a stranger appears claiming to be her sister, she realises that her life so far has been a lie. But why?

'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies. 'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly. 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant' Fabulous

Perfect for fans of BEFORE WE WERE YOURS by Lisa Wingate.

Hartland House has always been a faithful keeper of secrets...

1958. Sent to beautiful Hartland to be sheltered from her mother's illness, Liz spends the summer with the wealthy Shaw family. They treat Liz as one of their own, but their influence could be dangerous...

Now. Addie believes she knows everything about her mother Elizabeth and their difficult relationship until her recent death. When a stranger appears claiming to be Addie's sister, she is stunned. Is everything she's been told about her early life a lie?

How can you find the truth about the past if the one person who could tell you is gone? Addie must go back to that golden summer her mother never spoke of...and the one night that changed a young girl's life for ever.

'A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s' Sheila O'Flanagan.

'Trembles with family secrets' Victoria Fox

What readers are saying about My Mother's Shadow:

'One of the most enthralling, heartbreaking books that I have read in quite some time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The poignant storyline is deeply affecting. Definitely a book that is going to stay with me for a long time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'So beautifully written. In places it made me laugh out loud and in other places it made me cry. Poignant' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

'I was hooked from beginning to end! Vivid characters and evocative scenes make this an enchanting read' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

'Stunning and emotional' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

'This novel absolutely blew me away! I was left emotional and teary. It had me gripped from the start and is loaded with scenes that pull at the heartstrings! I cannot recommend this novel enough' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A stunning read and I can't wait to read more from this author' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472241160
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 198 x 135 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant * Fabulous *
An intriguing twisting story with a lush opening and beautifully descriptive writing throughout. I loved it -- Dinah Jefferies, author of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE
A delightful debut about family and secrets * Prima *
A compelling family story... beautifully written... evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s -- Sheila O'Flanagan
An emotional and involving story * Woman & Home *
Beautifully written * Daily Mail *
A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose -- Erin Kelly
Compelling, atmospheric and beautifully written...trembles with family secrets. I adored it -- Victoria Fox
Delightful...Beautifully written and hugely enjoyable * The People *
I just couldn't put it down... A fascinating mix of history, family secrets and self discovery... A stunning read and I can't wait to read more from this author' -- www.booksandme.co.uk
Absolutely captivating -- www.josbookblog.co.uk
This novel absolutely blew me away! It had me gripped from the start and is loaded with scenes that pull at the heart strings... An incredible debut novel -- 5 stars, www.annebonnybookreviews.com
An intriguing book of family drama, with a little bit of mystery between the pages... A perfect read for my recent holiday... Nikola Scott writes beautifully with vivid descriptions -- www.myreadingcorner.co.uk
A beautiful, heartwarming and at times a gut-wrenching story...would highly recommend -- www.broadbeansbooks.wordpress.com
Poignant -- www.bookphace.blogspot.co.uk

You may also be interested in...

The Immortalists
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Crazy Rich Asians
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Question of Trust
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.