My Last Duchess: The unputdownable epic novel of an American Heiress (Paperback)
  • My Last Duchess: The unputdownable epic novel of an American Heiress (Paperback)
zoom

My Last Duchess: The unputdownable epic novel of an American Heiress (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 06/01/2011
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

MY LAST DUCHESS is the debut novel from Daisy Goodwin, the script writer of the epic ITV Sunday night drama VICTORIA,. A rich, rewarding love story, perfect for readers of Georgette Heyer, and fans of VICTORIA, DOWNTON ABBEY and THE CROWN.

'Sparkling and thoroughly engaging' Sunday Times
'Deliciously classy. An intelligent pleasure, full of exquisite period detail' Kate Mosse

Cora Cash has grown up in a world in which money unlocks every door. Her coming-out ball promises to be the most opulent of the gilded 1890s, a fitting debut for New York's 'princess'. Yet her fortune cannot buy her the one thing she craves -- the freedom to choose her own destiny. For Cora's mother has her heart on a title for her daughter, and in England -- where they are bound, to find Cora a husband.

When Cora loses her heart to a man she barely knows, she soon realises that she is playing a game she does not fully understand -- and that her future happiness is the prize.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755348084
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 344 g
Dimensions: 198 x 132 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Sparkling and thoroughly engaging...the story of a poor little rich girl learning the hard way how to concentrate on the next step along the tightrope makes for a highly enjoyable and intelligent read' * The Sunday Times *
'Daisy Goodwin's debut novel is a delightful confection - a clash of cultures set in late 19th-century England, embellished with the glittering lavishness that the period implies' * Marie Claire *
'Anyone suffering Downton Abbey withdrawal symptoms (who isn't?) will find an instant tonic in Daisy Goodwin's My Last Duchess...this is a deliciously evocative first novel that lingers in the mind. Henry James with belles on' * Allison Pearson, Telegraph, Books of the Year for Christmas *

You may also be interested in...

Wars of the Roses: Trinity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“OK, want to give 3.5 stars”

This novel mainly kept my interest because I wanted to find out what Daisy's husband's true feelings were for her. Apart from that I felt it was an interesting part of history, and quite good fun to read... More

Paperback edition
14th February 2012
Helpful? Upvote 63

“Echoes...”

My Last Duchess started of as if it were a chick lit, but progressed thankfully into an addictive read..which was...something else. If you like Bronte/ Austen/ Du Maurier you will love this book. Hints of Bronte!... More

Paperback edition
29th August 2011
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Addictive Reading”

Incredible detail brings this story to life. I started it on a Friday night and was extremely sad to finish it on Sunday. The characters are immediately addictive, especially the main character, Cora. Daisy Goodwin... More

Paperback edition
20th January 2011
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.