My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises (Hardback)
  • My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises (Hardback)
zoom

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises (Hardback)

(author), (translator)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 04/06/2015
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, the new novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house. Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them. But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally? Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown? Seven-year-old Elsa does. Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway. As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own ...

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444775839
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 468 g
Dimensions: 219 x 152 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
There are clear themes here, nominally: the importance of stories; the honesty of children; and the obtuseness of most adults, putting him firmly in league with the likes of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman. A touching, sometimes funny, often wise portrait of grief. Kirkus The author's lightness of touch is definitely a contributor towards the novel's success. (It's already a best seller in his native country.) Fredrik conveys much in a few words ... However a special warning to the ladies summed up in three words: wear waterproof mascara! I read the last few chapters verging between heart-glowing smiles and heart-wrenching sobs. I'll be ready for it the next few times I read it though and, indeed, the times after that. The Bookbag Told with the same comic accuracy and beating heart as [OVE] ... It is a story about life and death and one of the most important human rights: the right to be different. Laura's Little Book Blog A highly compelling read and it was easy to lose myself in the story Off the Shelf blog

You may also be interested in...

A Narrow Door
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Magical ”

Fredrick Backman has an amazing ability to weave emotions through out his story telling. I laughed and cried and goose-bumped.
This is the story of seven year old Elsa and her Granny, the Land of Almost Awake where... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 69
Penelope Bullock at Lancaster

“Prepare to be delighted!”

I absolutely loved this book. It is heart-warming, hilarious and just utterly, utterly wonderful. Packed with the most glorious characters, it will make you repeatedly laugh out loud but also cry quite a few tears.... More

Paperback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 46

“The most memorable and brilliant book I've read all year!”

The main protagonist of this story is a witty, seven-year-old girl, Elsa, who discovers the secrets of the people closest to her through uncovering the hidden meaning behind the fairytales of the Land of Almost-Awake... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.