My Dark Vanessa: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • My Dark Vanessa: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
zoom

My Dark Vanessa: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 31/03/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Tackling the contentious issue of sexual abuse with unflinching enquiry and emotional complexity, My Dark Vanessa interrogates the blurred lines between consent and manipulation and how both memory and context can shift alarmingly over time. Disturbing, unputdownable and perfect for fans of Lisa Taddeo’s groundbreaking Three Women, Russell’s stunning debut promises to be one of the most talked-about books of the year. 

This signed edition contains exclusive material about the process of writing My Dark Vanessa.

An era-defining novel about the relationship between a fifteen-year-old girl and her teacher

All he did was fall in love with me and the world turned him into a monster.

Vanessa Wye was fifteen-years-old when she first had sex with her English teacher.

She is now thirty-two and in the storm of allegations against powerful men in 2017, the teacher, Jacob Strane, has just been accused of sexual abuse by another former student.

Vanessa is horrified by this news, because she is quite certain that the relationship she had with Strane wasn't abuse. It was love. She's sure of that.

Forced to rethink her past, to revisit everything that happened, Vanessa has to redefine the great love story of her life - her great sexual awakening - as rape. Now she must deal with the possibility that she might be a victim, and just one of many.

Nuanced, uncomfortable, bold and powerful, My Dark Vanessa goes straight to the heart of some of the most complex issues our age.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 2928377001131
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 600 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A hard story to read and a harder one to put down ... a package of dynamite.' - Stephen King

'A remarkable debut, deeply thoughtful, deeply emotional, compelling and disturbing in equal measure.' - Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

'Riveting and compulsive, My Dark Vanessa unsettles with every sentence. A novel that asks urgent questions and refuses easy answers.' - Elizabeth Day

'My Dark Vanessa is a total masterpiece of tone and point of view, even more impressive for how uninvested it seems in impressing us. It's fascinating and devastating and brilliant. I loved it.' - Kristen Roupenian, author of You Know You Want This: "Cat Person" and Other Stories

'Unsettling, compulsive and deeply thought provoking. Extremely well done.' - Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

'Gripping, dark, prescient and searing in its emotional honesty,
My Dark Vanessa is a must read if the year.' - Sarah Pinborough, author of Behind Her Eyes and Cross Her Heart

'I can't remember the last time a book hooked me like My Dark Vanessa ... a brilliant, chilling portrait of manipulation and abuse of power.' - Jane Casey, author of The Missing and Cruel Acts

'A devastating cultural portrait of enablement and the harm we allow young women to shoulder ... A gut-wrenching debut.' - Kirkus

'Powerful, compulsive and brilliant ... Such a skilled, terrifying depiction of the grooming of a vulnerable 15-year-old girl by her English teacher. An important book, we should all read it.' - Marian Keyes

'My Dark Vanessa is about story-telling and manipulation and the manipulation of those stories. It is destined to be a hit.' - Pandora Sykes

'My Dark Vanessa is a provocative and disturbing exploration of what happens when manipulation feels like love. More than anything else, Russell pushes us to reconsider everything we believe about what a "perfect" victim looks like. Challenging and uncompromising, My Dark Vanessa is the book everyone will be talking about in 2020.' - Louise O'Neill

You may also be interested in...

The Familiars
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The House by the Loch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Such a Fun Age
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Binding
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Daisy Jones and The Six
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Love Child
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Rosie Result
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Binding
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Secret Service
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wakenhyrst
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A must read....”

Very few books rattle me the way his book did. It generated a range of emotions – anger, despair, frustration, love and really packs a punch for a debut novel.
It takes us through the years of a manipulative and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“Powerful beyond words”

A book to certainly make you think. It is as compelling as it is devastating. I found it incredibly powerful, and unsettling at the same time.The writing is exquisite and mesmerising yet in the same breath... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Arresting, challenging and heart breaking”

At 15, Vanessa was in a relationship with a teacher three times her age. Now aged 32, she is forced by current events and the social climate to reevaluate what she regards as the great love story of her life.

This is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.