My Dark Vanessa: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • My Dark Vanessa: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
zoom

My Dark Vanessa: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 384 Pages
Published: 31/03/2020
Notify me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order.

Waterstones Says

Tackling the contentious issue of sexual abuse with unflinching enquiry and emotional complexity, My Dark Vanessa interrogates the blurred lines between consent and manipulation and how both memory and context can shift alarmingly over time. Disturbing, unputdownable and perfect for fans of Lisa Taddeo’s groundbreaking Three Women, Russell’s stunning debut promises to be one of the most talked-about books of the year. 

This signed edition contains exclusive material about the process of writing My Dark Vanessa.

An era-defining novel about the relationship between a fifteen-year-old girl and her teacher

All he did was fall in love with me and the world turned him into a monster.

Vanessa Wye was fifteen-years-old when she first had sex with her English teacher.

She is now thirty-two and in the storm of allegations against powerful men in 2017, the teacher, Jacob Strane, has just been accused of sexual abuse by another former student.

Vanessa is horrified by this news, because she is quite certain that the relationship she had with Strane wasn't abuse. It was love. She's sure of that.

Forced to rethink her past, to revisit everything that happened, Vanessa has to redefine the great love story of her life - her great sexual awakening - as rape. Now she must deal with the possibility that she might be a victim, and just one of many.

Nuanced, uncomfortable, bold and powerful, My Dark Vanessa goes straight to the heart of some of the most complex issues our age.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 2928377001131
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 600 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“#MeToo book of 2020”

My Dark Vanessa is haunting, it’s addictive, intimate. It’s the kind of read where you realise, when you eventually tease your eyes away, that you’ve been gritting your teeth.

It was a hard read, not strictly... More

Hardback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 20

“An overwhelming debut that will stay with you for a long time!”

My Dark Vanessa was weird, overwhelming, disturbing and frustrating but I was fully enveloped into the incredible writing that this book offers.

The strange relationship that is depicted between Vanessa and her... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Riveting, dark modern masterpiece”

My Dark Vanessa is the brilliant debut by Kate Elizabeth Russell, who has crafted a riveting, dark modern masterpiece about manipulation and abuse of power.

An utterly compelling read from the beginning as we are... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: