Murder Before Evensong - Canon Clement Mystery (Paperback)
  • Murder Before Evensong - Canon Clement Mystery (Paperback)
zoom

Murder Before Evensong - Canon Clement Mystery (Paperback)

(author)
? RRP £9.99
£7.99
Save £2.00 (20%)
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 02/03/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club, this brilliant crime debut from The Reverend Richard Coles sees the sleepy parish of Champton descend into unexpected chaos, setting Canon Daniel Clement on a hunt for a murderer.

Shortlisted for The British Book Awards 2023 Crime & Thriller Book of the Year

Daniel Clement is Rector of Champton, where he lives alongside his widowed mother - opinionated, fearless, ever-so-slightly annoying Audrey - and his two dachshunds, Cosmo and Hilda.

When Daniel announces a plan to install a lavatory in the church, the parish is suddenly (and unexpectedly) divided: as lines are drawn, long-buried secrets come dangerously close to destroying the apparent calm of the village.

And then Anthony Bowness - cousin to Bernard de Floures, patron of Champton - is found dead at the back of the church. As the police moves in and the bodies start piling up, Daniel is the only one who can try and keep his community together... and catch a killer.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781474612647
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 274 g
Dimensions: 190 x 124 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

I've been waiting for a novel with vicars, rude old ladies, murder and sausage dogs ... et voila! - Dawn French

The Reverend Richard Coles gives us a serpent in England's pastoral Eden - and whodunit fans can give praise and rejoice. - Ian Rankin

Cosy and charming, Murder Before Evensong is less about the shock and gore of murder than its ripple effect on a small, close-knit community. Devotees of Midsomer Murders and Agatha Christie's Miss Marple stories will feel most at home here. - Fiona Sturges, GUARDIAN, Audiobook of the week review

Britain's favourite vicar might be hanging up the dog collar, but in Murder Before Evensong he proves to be the unlikely heir to Barbara Pym...Coles is free here to unleash a splendidly caustic wit on those parishioners who deserve it... as Daniel locks horns with his flock over the matter of whether the vintage pews in St Mary's can be moved to make way for a new lavatory, Coles rivals Barbara Pym in his ability to make supremely low-stake conflict gripping... Like all the best cosy mysteries, this is comforting but not anodyne. And the style suits the content perfectly: wonderfully feline when it comes to jokes, but moving easily to unselfconscious wisdom when required. Auden would have admired this novel for meeting his requirements for the classical detective story: but he might also have recognised Coles as being, at his best, a fellow artist with words. - Jake Kerridge, THE DAILY TELEGRAPH

Even better than I knew it would be. Really well plotted... beautifully written, charming without being twee, funny, intelligent and mordant too. It's cosy, yes, but waaay better than "cosy crime" suggests. - India Knight, SUNDAY TIMES

Murder Before Evensong is like a walk in the country on a warm summer's evening... one during which your fellow ramblers can be murdered horribly at any moment. Canon Daniel Clement is an inscrutable and erudite detective, while four-legged sidekicks Hilda and Cosmo are his delightful foils. You'll want to take a front row pew in Champton while this delicious series unfolds. - Janice Hallett, author of The Appeal

An absolute joy from cover to cover - funny, clever and wonderfully plotted. Praise be! - Adam Kay

Beautifully written and a warm funny joy from start to finish. - Sarah Millican

Perfect for those who like their cosy crime to have a cutting edge. - Ben Aaronovitch

Glorious. - Robert Webb

Champton joins St Mary Mead and Midsomer in the great atlas of fictional English villages where the crimes are as dastardly as the residents delightful. Canon Daniel Clement must solve mysteries temporal and theological while surviving his parishioners tender ministries. Delightful! And only Richard Coles could pull this off so joyfully and with such style. Biscuit-thieving Cosmo, too, will soon have his own fan club. - Damian Barr

Coles has a gift for subtle comic writing... beyond the fascinating story with its rich characters, the real discovery here is the sniffing out of the author's formidable talent for writing about English life with English humour. Roll on the rest of the series! - The Reverend Jonathan Aitken, THE OLDIE

Coles does a wonderful job of bringing his congregation to life... [and] moves seamlessly between humour and something deeper... Charming and funny, it is just what you'd expect from the excellent Coles. - Alison Flood, THE OBSERVER, Thriller of the Month

Coles' murderous take on a quintessentially English parish makes for a likeable, cosy crime caper. - Jon Coates, SUNDAY EXPRESS

Cosy crime with a cutting edge. - SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

A good old page-turner with brilliantly drawn characters, from the aristocratic de Floures to Daniel's astute, snobbish mother, and dachshunds so real you can almost smell them. - Rose Shepherd, SAGA, Book of the Month

[A] cunning whodunnit... This wise and often beautifully written novel remains most memorable as a sharp but sympathetic portrayal of everyday life in a small community and a clergyman's role within it. - Jake Kerridge, DAILY EXPRESS

Richard Coles is one of the most sparkling, entertaining, clever and lovable people in public life, as rare and precious to British culture as a Norman cathedral. - Victoria Coren Mitchell

Murder Before Evensong has all the elements that make up a classic detective story: a pitch-perfect setting, a genuine puzzle, a gruesome murder (or more) and engaging characters. I enjoyed it very much. - Philip Pullman

Coles' rendering of his fictional church, St Mary's, in the village of Champton, twinkles with quirky detail and sharp humour. - Paul Connolly, METRO

A wry, tongue-in cheek and whimsical debut with more than a trace of G. K. Chesterton's Father Brown... charming. - Geoffrey Wansell, DAILY MAIL

Violent deaths aside, it's a cosy world of Desert Island Discs, flower rotas and walnut cakes, beautifully written and evocative, run through with the comforting, ancient liturgical rhythms that transport you to Evensong and gentle organ music in a cool country church on a summer's evening. - Kate Green, COUNTRY LIFE

This has all the ingredients of a brilliant new cosy crime series. - Susan Watson, MY WEEKLY

A brilliant crime romp set in a village full of gossip and secrets. - Zoe West, WOMAN'S WEEKLY

A deliciously thrilling murder mystery. - Susan Watson, WOMAN'S WEEKLY SUMMER SPECIAL

He's very good on the nitty-gritty of a clergyman's life. His likable protagonist Canon Daniel Clement's struggle to get parishioners to accept the installation of a new church toilet is every bit as gripping as his investigation of the inevitable series of mystifying murders. - John Williams, MAIL ON SUNDAY

Coles is a sharp observer of human nature, but his observations are tempered with both humour and compassion, and much of the pleasure in the book lies in the incidental asides. - CAROLINE CHARTRES, CHURCH TIMES

Coles adds another string to his bow with this witty, Barbara Pym-ish village whodunnit about a crime-solving cleric. - THE DAILY TELEGRAPH, Best Holiday Reads

You may also be interested in...

Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Calamity of Souls
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Talented Mr Ripley
Added to basket
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Kamogawa Food Detectives
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid's Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“A heavenly murder story.”

Canon Daniel Clement, Rector of Champton for eight years lives with his mother Audrey and his dachshunds, Cosmos and Hilda. When Daniel announces a plan to instal a toilet in the church the parish is unexpectedly... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 81

“Village Life Can Be Murder!”

The Vicar of Dibley meets Midsummer Murders in this new thriller written by the Reverend Richard Coles, who makes his fictional debut in this cosy English village murder mystery that is sure to become a smash hit.... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 53

“Village Life! Be Afraid!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, it obviously flew straight to the top of the to be read towers.
This is a cleverly plotted cosy crime set in Champton village in 1988, all is calm and civilised... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 43

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: