Mrs March: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • Mrs March: Signed Edition (Hardback)
zoom

Mrs March: Signed Edition (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99 £12.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 05/08/2021
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A scalpel-sharp and suspenseful dissection of New York society snobbery perfect for readers of Shirley Jackson and Ottessa Moshfegh, Feito’s electrifying debut tracks the paranoid descent of a writer’s wife as she begins to sense that her marriage is built on a lie.

Signed Edition

A standard edition is available here.

Shirley Jackson meets Ottessa Moshfegh meets My Sister, the Serial Killer in a brilliantly unsettling and darkly funny debut novel full of suspense and paranoia

George March's latest novel is a smash hit. None could be prouder than Mrs. March, his dutiful wife, who revels in his accolades and relishes the lifestyle and status his success brings.

A creature of routine and decorum, Mrs. March lives an exquisitely controlled existence on the Upper East Side. Every morning begins the same way, with a visit to her favourite patisserie to buy a loaf of
olive bread, but her latest trip proves to be her last when she suffers an indignity from which she may never recover: an assumption by the shopkeeper that the protagonist in George March's new book - a pathetic sex worker, more a figure of derision than desire - is based on Mrs. March.

One casual remark robs Mrs. March not only of her beloved olive bread but of the belief that she knew everything about her husband - and herself - sending her on an increasingly paranoid journey, one
that starts within the pages of a book but may very well uncover both a killer and the long-buried secrets of Mrs. March's past.

A razor-sharp exploration of the fragility of identity and the smothering weight of expectations, Mrs. March heralds the arrival of a wicked and wonderful new voice.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008504038
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 222 x 141 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'I read Mrs March in one sitting and was so captured by it ... As a character, [Mrs March] is fascinating, complex, and deeply human' - Elisabeth Moss

'Mrs. March is just the Madame Bovary-meets-Patricia Highsmith feminist psychoanalytic comedy-of-manners thriller that I didn't know I so desperately needed. I almost destroyed my life by staying up so late reading. I am lucky my house is still standing' - Elif Batuman, author of The Idiot

'A delicious, disorienting study of suspicion, societal pressure and shifting identities, brilliantly rendered. I swallowed this tale down as greedily as if it were Mrs. March's beloved olive bread' - Rachel Edwards, author of Darling

'This is storytelling at its most compelling, sinuous and needle-sharp. Told through an unforgettable narrative voice, Mrs March has a plot as skilful as fine clockwork, and is peopled with characters so vivid I could hear, see and even smell them. A triumph' - Catriona Ward, author of The Last House on Needless Street

'Feito locks the reader up inside the fracturing psyche of a woman of privilege ... through excruciatingly precise renderings of grotesque delusions... Feito masterfully orchestrates the bewildering horrors of Mrs March's breakdown... Feito's bravura gothic thriller brilliantly exposes monstrous consequences of covert neglect and cruelty' - Donna Seaman, Booklist

'Like Mrs March herself, I spent most of Virginia Feito's trippy novel wondering, What the devil is going on? When she figured it out, I was haunted for days' - Helen Ellis, author of American Housewife

'This crisp, delicious portrait of a woman coming apart is a brutal, darkly funny, sharp blade of a book. I loved it' - Amber Sparks, author of And I Do Not Forgive You

You may also be interested in...

Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
No Longer Human
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

“Wonderful Mrs March..”

Mrs Marsh is a creature of habit and proud to be a wife of a highly successful novelist. As she does every day, she visits her favourite bakery to for olive bread. In passing the baker made a comment which troubled... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Deeply unsettling, creepy exploration of a woman's unravelling”

Set in a New York somewhere since the 1950s, this third person novel follows Mrs March as she goes about her increasingly terrifying daily life. It's a life of privilege, on the face of it, married to a famous... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10
Vivienne O'Regan

“An impressive literary domestic noir”

My thanks to 4th Estate William Collins for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘Mrs. March’ by Virginia Feito in exchange for an honest review.

This proved an unusual literary domestic noir that follows the titular Mrs. March... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.