Mrs March (Hardback)
  • Mrs March (Hardback)
zoom

Mrs March (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 304 Pages
Published: 05/08/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A scalpel-sharp and suspenseful dissection of New York society snobbery perfect for readers of Shirley Jackson and Ottessa Moshfegh, Feito’s electrifying debut tracks the paranoid descent of a writer’s wife as she begins to sense that her marriage is built on a lie.

Shirley Jackson meets Ottessa Moshfegh meets My Sister, the Serial Killer in a brilliantly unsettling and darkly funny debut novel full of suspense and paranoia

George March's latest novel is a smash hit. None could be prouder than Mrs. March, his dutiful wife, who revels in his accolades and relishes the lifestyle and status his success brings.

A creature of routine and decorum, Mrs. March lives an exquisitely controlled existence on the Upper East Side. Every morning begins the same way, with a visit to her favourite patisserie to buy a loaf of
olive bread, but her latest trip proves to be her last when she suffers an indignity from which she may never recover: an assumption by the shopkeeper that the protagonist in George March's new book - a pathetic sex worker, more a figure of derision than desire - is based on Mrs. March.

One casual remark robs Mrs. March not only of her beloved olive bread but of the belief that she knew everything about her husband - and herself - sending her on an increasingly paranoid journey, one
that starts within the pages of a book but may very well uncover both a killer and the long-buried secrets of Mrs. March's past.

A razor-sharp exploration of the fragility of identity and the smothering weight of expectations, Mrs. March heralds the arrival of a wicked and wonderful new voice.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008421717
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 400 g
Dimensions: 222 x 141 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘I read Mrs March in one sitting and was so captured by it … As a character, [Mrs March] is fascinating, complex, and deeply human’ Elisabeth Moss ‘Feito nods deftly to her forebears – there are shades of Hitchcock and Highsmith here … while the opening chapter puts one in mind of Woolf’s Mrs Dalloway … Nastily good fun’ Claire Allfree, Metro ‘Virginia Feito’s noirish debut novel left me rapt, gleefully ambivalent about her eponymous protagonist: did I like her? Did I find her funny? Did I want to hug her? Was I bit a scared of her? Did I relate to her? To all of the above: yes … an elegant, claustrophobic psychological thriller that feels incredibly original’ Evening Standard ‘What a rancid little book, I absolutely loved it’ Alice Slater ‘The atmosphere of queasy foreboding is compelling, as is the portrayal of a flawed, troubled and complex individual trying to keep it together while coming apart at the seams’ Economist ‘A brilliantly tense psychological study from a writer who keeps pace with the grandees she invokes – Du Maurier, for one … Feito has done that most horrible, wonderful and truly novelistic of things: she has seen right through Mrs March and into the shameful, petty, maggoty secrets that everybody carries’ Guardian 'A delicious, disorienting study of suspicion, societal pressure and shifting identities, brilliantly rendered. I swallowed this tale down as greedily as if it were Mrs. March's beloved olive bread' Rachel Edwards, author of Darling ‘Gloriously grotesque: tormented by the desire for glossy magazine perfection; cruelly judgemental; frantic to believe the world revolves around her. And yet Feito makes her guilt-inducingly relatable…The gothic awfulness of her predicament reminds you of Ottessa Moshfegh’s grand guignol creations and lurid descriptive talents; Shirley Jackson’s claustrophobic horror’ The Times

You may also be interested in...

Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Antarctica
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
This Family
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Wonderful Mrs March..”

Mrs Marsh is a creature of habit and proud to be a wife of a highly successful novelist. As she does every day, she visits her favourite bakery to for olive bread. In passing the baker made a comment which troubled... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 35

“Deeply unsettling, creepy exploration of a woman's unravelling”

Set in a New York somewhere since the 1950s, this third person novel follows Mrs March as she goes about her increasingly terrifying daily life. It's a life of privilege, on the face of it, married to a famous... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20
Vivienne O'Regan

“An impressive literary domestic noir”

My thanks to 4th Estate William Collins for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘Mrs. March’ by Virginia Feito in exchange for an honest review.

This proved an unusual literary domestic noir that follows the titular Mrs. March... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: