Mother, Mother (Hardback)
  • Mother, Mother (Hardback)
zoom

Mother, Mother (Hardback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 364 Pages / Published: 16/01/2014
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

An electrifying debut novel about what happens when the one who should love you the most becomes your worst enemy. Sure to appeal to fans of GONE GIRL, WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN and ROOM

Meet the Hurst Family.

Meet Violet Hurst -16 years old, beautiful and brilliant. So why is she being accused of being a danger to herself and others?

Meet her brother Will Hurst - the smartest and sweetest twelve-year old boy around. But does he really need all that medication he is being told to take?

Meet oldest sister Rose - the one who got away. She disappeared one night in her final year of school, never to be heard from again.

And then meet their mother - Josephine. Perhaps it will then all start to make sense.

An electrifying debut novel about a mother's love gone too far

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007547388
Number of pages: 364
Weight: 630 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Tense, shocking and terrifyingly good' Closer

'A dark and witty novel' Company

'Unputdownable. An extraordinary book' Elizabeth Forbes, author of Nearest Thing to Crazy

If you liked We Need to Talk About Kevin, this spiky, disconcerting debut novel is for you.' Glamour

'Superbly paced and structured, with dialogue worthy of Lena Dunham, Mother, Mother is an engrossing, and finally shocking, read.' Guardian

'Josephine is a chillingly, convincing self-centered narcissist. The very different ways that the three children are threatened by their 'perfect' mother and fight to survive her attentions make this an original and cleverly paced psychological thriller' Daily Mail

You may also be interested in...

The Lying Life of Adults
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Summerwater
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£10.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
You and Me on Vacation
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket

“A tense family drama.”

A dysfunctional family, with an overbearing and extremely difficult mother and a father struggling with alcoholism, are falling apart. The three children, Rose, Violet and William, have all coped in very different... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 55
Teresa Majury

“Mommie Dearest”

” They f___ you up your Mum and Dad, They may not mean to but they do. “ Harsh words from Philip Larkin but he has a point…except here it’s Mommie Dearest who is most at fault in the shape of Josephine Hurst,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“Gripping and Haunting”

This book reminds me very much of Psycho and 'Bates Motel' (on TV), anyone that has seen either would be sure to love this book! It is all of the best descriptive words all rolled into one: creepy, gripping,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 25

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.