Mortal Follies (Hardback)
  • Mortal Follies (Hardback)
zoom

Mortal Follies (Hardback)

(author), (read by)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 416 Pages
Published: 06/06/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A lovely, pitch-perfect romance, with an alternate Regency setting that is well developed and has tremendous charm... Part historical, part fantasy, all top-notch queer romance'
KIRKUS REVIEWS (starred review)

'A fresh and delightful addition to the queer romance canon... All the interpersonal drama of Jane Austen meets all the complex treachery of Greek mythology'
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (starred review)

'Whimsically wonderful, witty writing that evokes Jane Austen and Oscar Wilde... An effervescent, genre-blurring romantic confection'
BOOKLIST

It is the year 1814 and Miss Maelys Mitchelmore finds her entry into the highest society of Bath hindered by an irritating curse. It begins innocuously enough, with her dress slowly unmaking itself over the course of an evening at the ball of the season, a scandal she only narrowly manages to escape.

However, as the curse progresses to more fatal proportions, she realises she must seek out urgent assistance, even if that means mixing with the most undesirable company - and there are few less desirable allies than the brooding Lady Georgiana Landrake - who may or may not have murdered her own father and brothers to inherit their fortune.

If one is to believe the gossip, she might be some kind of malign enchantress.

Then again, a malign enchantress might be exactly what Miss Mitchelmore needs.

A devilishly funny and heartwarming sapphic Regency romantasy from TikTok titan and bestselling author of Boyfriend Material Alexis Hall, Mortal Follies is unmissable for fans of Juno Dawson's Her Majesty's Royal Coven, Sophie Irwin's A Lady's Guide to Fortune Hunting, and Freya Marske's A Marvellous Light.

What readers are saying:

'This book is just delightful. Hall is so talented at writing funny, sexy rom-coms that leave me with the biggest smile on my face, and this one is no exception' Kiley, 5* NetGalley review

'A frolicsome delight, which is as much about stories, and how stories are told, as anything else. Thanks (yet again) for the joy, Alexis Hall' Melissa, 5* NetGalley review

'Such a lot of fun! For anyone who loves Georgette Heyer-esque Regency historical rom-coms, you'll adore the tonnish style of the plot, and for those of us who love magic and witchery and faerie, then having Robin Goodfellow as the narrator adds a lot of wry humour' Lynne, 5* NetGalley review

'I LOVED this book! It's fun, exciting, tumultuous and sapphic. It's incredibly written with one of the most enjoyable narrators I've read... Kept me on the edge of my seat and not wanting to put my book down, even at 3am... Will be recommending to all my friends' Anonymous, 5* NetGalley review

'Be still my beating heart. I absolutely loved this! This book is perfect for readers who love Bridgerton' Bee, 5* NetGalley review

'So much fun to read' Courtney, 5* NetGalley review

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781399616430
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 640 g
Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A lovely, pitch-perfect romance, with an alternate Regency setting that is well developed and has tremendous charm... Part historical, part fantasy, all top-notch queer romance * Kirkus Reviews (starred review) *
A fresh and delightful addition to the queer romance canon... All the interpersonal drama of Jane Austen meets all the complex treachery of Greek mythology. Full of adventure, chaos, magic, and lust, this will enthrall Hall's fans and new readers alike * Publishers Weekly (starred review) *
From the book's puckish narrator-whose sly observations on humanity add another layer of humor to the story-to the whimsically wonderful, witty writing that evokes Jane Austen and Oscar Wilde, Hall... [creates] an effervescent, genre-blurring romantic confection that will be utterly irresistible to fans of Patricia C. Wrede, Caroline Stevermer, Mary Robinette Kowal, and Zen Cho * Booklist *
A contemporary Oscar Wilde * Entertainment Weekly *
Alexis Hall is the undisputed master of romantic comedy * USA Today bestselling author Jenny Holiday on Boyfriend Material *
A fun, frothy quintessentially British rom-com * New York Times bestselling author Talia Hibbert on Boyfriend Material *
How? How was this book written? My vote is witchcraft. What a study in character development. It's a how-to without even trying. I'm going to treat this novel like I do my favorite cardigan and buy 5 copies for when one wears out. Everyone needs to read this * New York Times bestselling author Christina Lauren on Boyfriend Material *
Brilliantly written, dangerously good, immensely satisfying. I love this book. Deeply. Eternally. My favorite romance of the year * New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann on Glitterland *
Simply the best writer I've come across in years * New York Times bestselling author Laura Kinsale on Glitterland *

You may also be interested in...

Pleasures of the Night
Added to basket
Shadow Spell
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Blaze of Memory
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Beauty & the Beast: Vendetta
Added to basket
Shadow of Night
Added to basket
Autumn Rose
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Shards of Hope
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Mine to Possess
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Shadows
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Kiss of Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Beauty & the Beast: Fire at Sea
Added to basket
Dark Wolf
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Moonglow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The New Hunger (The Warm Bodies Series)
Added to basket
The Bane Chronicles
Added to basket
In Camelot's Shadow
Added to basket
thelibrarysghost

“Historical Sapphic Romance With Curses & Dieties!”

Alexis Hall is one of my favorite writers. I always enjoy the way he creates characters with such unique and strong personalities. You really cant help but bond with them as they are taken on whatever adventure Alexis... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“What truly makes this book is the narrator!”

Overall, I feel like the story was 4 stars and it gets an extra half a star because I loved the narrator.
This is the story of Maelys Mitchelmore who starts the book cursed by an old god, and it goes on from there. A... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: