Mordew (Paperback)
  • Mordew (Paperback)
zoom

Mordew (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 700 Pages
Published: 22/07/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of Mervyn Peake’s Gormenghast and Andrew Caldecott’s Rotherweird, Mordew – which tells the story of one extraordinary slum-child’s rise to challenge the god-devouring might of The Master in a world of sorcery and sinister intrigue - is original fantasy at its finest and most deeply strange.

God is dead, his corpse hidden in the catacombs beneath Mordew.

In the slums of the sea-battered city a young boy called Nathan Treeves lives with his parents, eking out a meagre existence by picking treasures from the Living Mud and the half-formed, short-lived creatures it spawns. Until one day his desperate mother sells him to the mysterious Master of Mordew.

The Master derives his magical power from feeding on the corpse of God. But Nathan, despite his fear and lowly station, has his own strength – and it is greater than the Master has ever known. Great enough to destroy everything the Master has built. If only Nathan can discover how to use it.

So it is that the Master begins to scheme against him – and Nathan has to fight his way through the betrayals, secrets, and vendettas of the city where God was murdered, and darkness reigns…

Welcome to Mordew – the first in a monumental new trilogy form the Wellcome Book Prize-shortlisted author Alex Pheby.

Publisher: Galley Beggar Press
ISBN: 9781913111120
Number of pages: 700
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

Ink Blood Sister Scribe
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Fourth Wing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
The Serpent and the Wings of Night
Added to basket
A Court of Mist and Fury
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Court of Wings and Ruin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Study in Drowning
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Ashes and the Star-Cursed King
Added to basket
Iron Flame
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Ballad of Never After
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Book That Wouldn’t Burn
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tress of the Emerald Sea
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Ollie, Senior Bookseller

“Mordew Review”

This fair and unbiased review was conducted with gratitude for the free electronic copy which I received from the publisher.

Before Nathan’s journey even begins, we find ourselves beguiled with promises of mysteries... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 42

“Stunning”

I can tell you exactly when I fell in love with this book. It was on page 13, before I even got to the start of the story and I was reading the Dramatis Personae. I came across a reference to ‘a family of elephants,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 40

“Brilliant. A fantastic new world to explore...”

I was enthralled by this book. The level of detail of the world of Mordew is amazing, and the story of Nathan Treeves is hugely entertaining. It reminded me a little of some of Garth Nix’s “Old Kingdom” books, or... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: