Moral Realism: A Defence (Paperback)
  • Moral Realism: A Defence (Paperback)
zoom

Moral Realism: A Defence (Paperback)

(author)
£33.99
Paperback 334 Pages / Published: 05/05/2005
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Moral Realism is a systematic defence of the idea that there are objective moral standards. In the tradition of Plato and G. E. Moore, Russ Shafer-Landau argues that there are moral principles that are true independently of what anyone, anywhere, happens to think of them. These principles are a fundamental aspect of reality, just as much as those that govern mathematics or the natural world. They may be true regardless of our ability to grasp them, and their truth is not a matter of their being ratified from any ideal standpoint, nor of being the object of actual or hypothetical consensus, nor of being an expression of our rational nature. Shafer-Landau accepts Plato's and Moore's contention that moral truths are sui generis. He rejects the currently popular efforts to conceive of ethics as a kind of science, and insists that moral truths and properties occupy a distinctive area in our ontology. Unlike scientific truths, the fundamental moral principles are knowable a priori. And unlike mathematical truths, they are essentially normative: intrinsically action-guiding, and supplying a justification for all who follow their counsel. Moral Realism is the first comprehensive treatise defending non-naturalistic moral realism in over a generation. It ranges over all of the central issues in contemporary metaethics, and will be an important source of discussion for philosophers and their students interested in issues concerning the foundations of ethics.

Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780199280209
Number of pages: 334
Weight: 484 g
Dimensions: 233 x 156 x 19 mm

You may also be interested in...

Skin in the Game
Added to basket
The Tipping Point
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Little Book of Ikigai
Added to basket
The Road Less Travelled
Added to basket
Enlightenment Now
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Meditations
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Order of Time
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Future Politics
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
A Little History of Philosophy
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
So You've Been Publicly Shamed
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Utopia for Realists
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Wabi Sabi
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
On the Shortness of Life
Added to basket
£4.99
Paperback
How to Be Free
Added to basket
£13.99
Hardback
I Am Dynamite!
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Thus Spoke Zarathustra
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.