Ts&Cs apply
Miss Blaine's Prefect and the Vampire Menace - Miss Blaine's Prefect 2 (Paperback)
  • Miss Blaine's Prefect and the Vampire Menace - Miss Blaine's Prefect 2 (Paperback)
zoom

Miss Blaine's Prefect and the Vampire Menace - Miss Blaine's Prefect 2 (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 14/02/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Fifty-something librarian Shona is a proud former pupil of the Marcia Blaine School for Girls, but has a deep loathing for The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, which she thinks gives her alma mater a bad name. Impeccably educated and an accomplished martial artist, linguist and musician, Shona is personally selected by Marcia Blaine herself to travel back in time for an important mission in fin-de-siecle France. But Shona finds this mission very confusing. Why, for example, have so many people been torn to death by wild animals, what are Maman and the mayor up to, and is the reclusive aristocrat really suffering from toothache? It's a race against time to solve the mystery. It is also a very tall order - but as Shona is wont to remind herself: Never underestimate a librarian!

Publisher: Saraband
ISBN: 9781912235506
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Comedy Women in Print prize 2020: LONGLISTED; "Audacious ... witty and fun." Alastair Mabbott, Herald; "Effortlessly blends together a number of genres ... Smart, funny and all-round good company, wherever Shona goes, readers will eagerly follow." Rhona Shennan, Scotsman; "Miss Blaine's Prefect and the Vampire Menace is a marvellous romp through history, myth, and legend, and delights by playing with all of these ... often impish and wry ... rip-roaring, genuinely thrilling, and laugh-out-loud funny." Alistair Braidwood, Scots Whay Hae; "The plot is engaging and keeps you turning the page ... it is the journey itself that is the reward. Highly recommended." Undiscovered Scotland; "I couldn't wait to be reunited with this character. I utterly love her company. So funny, so brisk, and above all, so well educated! More, more, more, please." Lynne Truss; "Miss Blaine's Prefect and the Vampire Menace is so clever, hugely enjoyable and absolutely hilarious." Portobello Book Blog; "The genius of Olga Wojtas' writing is that she is able to combine fact and fiction to delightful effect. Wojtas wears her erudition very lightly and uses it to charm and delight the reader in a whole host of laugh out loud moments ... Folklore, legends and historical figures are all used to fabulous effect in a magnificent time-travelling oeuvre that delights and entertains ... the sheer brio and delicacy of her writing is a real joy to read. It's warm, original, funny and irredeemably Scottish without losing its wider appeal." Live and Deadly; "Witty and enjoyable ... well-paced [with] relentless adventure ... original, unique." Jane Hunt Writer blog; "A thoroughly enjoyable romp." York Press: Book of the Week Praise for Miss Blaine's Prefect and the Golden Samovar: Crimefest Last Laugh Prize 2019, SHORTLISTED; Comedy Women in Print Prize 2019, LONGLISTED; a Kirkus top 10 title of 2018; "A delightful addition to the ranks of comic crime." Laura Wilson, Guardian (Pick of the Month); "Jane Austen stylings and Stella Gibbons satirical wit." Scotsman; "Like being trapped inside a Marx Brothers' film." David Robinson; "The creme de la creme of crime fiction debuts." Al Guthrie (author & agent); "Absolutely delightful ... perfect for fans of Jasper Fforde." Library Journal (starred review); "Marvellous... [a] laugh-out-loud farce." Publishers Weekly (starred review); "Anna Karenina written by P.G. Wodehouse." Linda Cracknell

You may also be interested in...

Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Couple at the Table
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Clockwork Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Leviathan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The Shards
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
The Trees
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Murders at Fleat House
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.