Mirrorland (Hardback)
  • Mirrorland (Hardback)
zoom

Mirrorland (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 416 Pages
Published: 15/04/2021
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A stunningly constructed and thrillingly atmospheric Edinburgh-set mystery, Mirrorland tells a chilling story of two sisters, a deeply buried past and the dangerous power of make-believe.

The most dangerous stories are the ones we tell ourselves...

No. 36 Westeryk Road: an imposing flat-stone house on the outskirts of Edinburgh. A place of curving shadows and crumbling grandeur. But it's what lies under the house that is extraordinary - Mirrorland. A vivid make-believe world that twin sisters Cat and El created as children. A place of escape, but from what?

Now in her thirties, Cat has turned her back on her past. But when she receives news that one sunny morning, El left harbour in her sailboat and never came back, she is forced to return to Westeryk Road; to re-enter a forgotten world of lies, betrayal and danger.

Because El had a plan. She's left behind a treasure hunt that will unearth long-buried secrets. And to discover the truth, Cat must first confront the reality of her childhood - a childhood that wasn't nearly as idyllic as she remembers...

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008361389
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 610 g
Dimensions: 227 x 159 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘I loved Mirrorland. It’s dark and devious, a neo-gothic featuring twin sisters and a deeply frightening old dark house. Beautifully written and plotted with a watchmaker’s precision’ STEPHEN KING ‘A dark, twisty and richly atmospheric exploration of the power of imagination’ RUTH WARE ‘Past and present collide in this vivid, ingenious and totally absorbing thriller. An amazing debut’ T.M. LOGAN, author of The Holiday and The Catch ‘An intricate, brilliant puzzle of a novel… Gone Girl meets Rebecca. Atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping, a must read for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn' SARAH PINBOROUGH ‘An addictive slice of Gothic’ i paper ‘An unsettling, labyrinthine tale’ NEW YORK TIMES ‘The love child of Gillian Flynn and Stephen King. In Mirrorland nothing is as it appears and the kaleidoscope twists and turns will have you frantically turning the pages until you reach the gasp-out-loud ending’ GREER HENDRICKS, bestselling co-author of The Wife Between Us ‘Told with thumping heart and extraordinary tenderness – as much a celebration of imagination and its escapism as an examination of trauma and its echoes’ KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE ‘Haunting’ WOMAN’S WEEKLY ‘An infernally well plotted, glitteringly written gothic tale of a missing twin, a dark, twisty house of secrets and a magical, unsettling family history’ IRISH TIMES ‘creepy gothic horror’ DAILY MAIL

You may also be interested in...

The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Winter Grave
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Skeleton Key
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Drift
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback

“You'd know if your twin were dead, wouldn't you?”

The premise of Mirrorland really is out of the ordinary. It plays on the theme of twins having a secret way of communicating and living in their own special world but that’s only the half of it. From the blurb, I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Incredible”

An absolute cracker of a book. Telling the story of identical twins El and Cat who spend their childhood living in a fantasy world called Mirrorland. It's like no other book I've read and the shocks... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11
Nicole @hemelwstones

“A Twist Of Rebecca Mixed With Room & Something Other... My Mind Is Still Blown.”

Mirrorland.
Just the name of it sent shivers down my spine.
Did I want to enter, would I come out the same?

A mix of Rebecca, and Room and something other is hinted at, something fantasy or maybe... horror?
What... More

Hardback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: