Mirka Andolfo's Mercy: The Fair Lady, The Frost, and The Fiend (Paperback)
  • Mirka Andolfo's Mercy: The Fair Lady, The Frost, and The Fiend (Paperback)
zoom

Mirka Andolfo's Mercy: The Fair Lady, The Frost, and The Fiend (Paperback)

(author,artist)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Paperback 192 Pages / Published: 08/12/2020
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
MERCY, a goth-inspired, Victorian monster series explores topics of "otherness," damnation and redemption, and what it means to be a monster in a horror graphic novel perfect for fans of Penny Dreadful, Crimson Peak, The Alienist, Parasol Protectorate, and Dark Shadows.

This new graphic novel by acclaimed creator MIRKA ANDOLFO (UNNATURAL) is a gothic horror tale where mysteries and unspeakable sins are blended together in a unique and sensual way.

Washington State, late nineteenth century. During the frenzied historical era commonly known as the Klondike Gold Rush, a mysterious woman arrives in Woodsburgh, a small mining town close to the Canadian border.

It's been a few years since the Swanson mine was closed following the terrible accident that claimed the lives of so many men and women, including the owner's and the city it's still struggling in search for a new place on the map of the country.

Elegant and extraordinarily wealthy, Lady Hellaine arrives in the city accompanied by her faithful butler Goodwill and settles in one of the most luxurious mansions in town. A lifestyle that contrasts sharply with that of the majority of the population, forced to choose between humble crafts and illegal activities.

No one is aware of the reasons that led such a classy lady to move from Seattle to the small village, but her arrival certainly did not go unnoticed. Especially in the eyes of Lady Swanson, widow of the late mine owner and leading figure of the local bourgeoisie. Lady Hellaine's plans will bring her on a collision course with the powerful Lady Swanson, who, for reasons not entirely rational, distrusts the newcomer.

Meanwhile, the streets and surroundings of Woodsburgh are flooded in blood: a heinous creature is killing incautious citizens, wreaking havoc on their bodies. Enough to induce local authorities to impose a strict curfew after sunset.

And with the falling of the first snow, the "Woodsburgh Devil"'s fury seems to have even increased. What's the connection, if any, between this disturbing presence and the ivory-skinned stranger?

Who is Lady Hellaine, really? And what's her secret agenda?

Collects MIRKA ANDOLFO'S MERCY #1-6

Publisher: Image Comics
ISBN: 9781534316584
Number of pages: 192
Weight: 399 g
Dimensions: 251 x 165 x 13 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY -- Andolfo starts slow but builds to a satisfying crescendo of Lovecraftian horror in this lavishly illustrated graphic novel. A small 19th-century mining town is visited by the mysterious Nolwenn Hellaine, a beautiful woman curious about local legends of the "Devil of Woodsburgh." Gradually, the townspeople discover that Lady Hellaine and her faithful retainer are otherworldly monsters who need to feed on human brains to survive. The early chapters are a slow burn as Andolfo takes time to introduce his sizable cast of characters, but once the action kicks in, it becomes a thrill ride rife with sex, gore, and cosmic horror, not to mention wild-card elements like an Indigenous monster-hunting squad that shows up looking for Lady Hellaine. The art is almost too sleek and glossy for a horror story, but succeeds with attractive, expressive characters, detailed period settings, and, when the story heats up, twisted shape-shifting monsters and gruesome violence. The result is a stylish chiller sure to please genre fans. (Dec.)


You may also be interested in...

Black Butler, Vol. 2
Added to basket
Batman: A Death in the Family
Added to basket
Y: The Last Man Book One
Added to basket
Soul Eater, Vol. 2
Added to basket
Lumberjanes Vol. 1
Added to basket
A Scanner Darkly
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Scott Pilgrim vs The World
Added to basket
Preacher Book One
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
The King in Yellow
Added to basket
Spirited Away Film Comic, Vol. 1
Added to basket
Saga Volume 2
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
Drama
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Black Butler, Vol. 3
Added to basket

“Again a beautifully produced second volume although slightly confusing.”

Lady Hellaine’s story reaches a conclusion in this horror comic series. All the main characters from Volume 1 are involved and there’s quite a lot of action, ending with a changed Rory. It’s got lovely, colourful and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Beautifully produced horror comic series.”

Lady Hellaine comes to Woodsburgh on a mission but the town is plagued by a “devil”. She also has “issues” and this all comes together in an exciting tale which introduces many characters. It’s a lot of fun even if... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.