Miracles at the Jesus Oak: Histories of the Supernatural in Reformation Europe (Paperback)
  • Miracles at the Jesus Oak: Histories of the Supernatural in Reformation Europe (Paperback)
zoom

Miracles at the Jesus Oak: Histories of the Supernatural in Reformation Europe (Paperback)

(author)
£21.00
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 13/09/2011
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

In the tradition of The Return of Martin Guerre and The Great Cat Massacre, Miracles at the Jesus Oak is a rich, evocative journey into the past and the extraordinary events that transformed the lives of ordinary people.

In the musty archive of a Belgian abbey, historian Craig Harline happened upon a vast collection of documents written in the seventeenth century by people who claimed to have experienced miracles and wonders. In Miracles at the Jesus Oak, Harline recasts these testimonies into engaging vignettes that open a window onto the believers, unbelievers, and religious movements of Catholic Europe in the Age of Reformation.

Written with grace and charm, Miracles at the Jesus Oak is popular history at its most informative and enlightening.

Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 9780300167023
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 408 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"In his usual manner, lively and fresh, he not only brings ordinary people front and center but also offers startling insight into the political and religious dynamic of the time. His approach and writing style, although historically responsible, are enjoyable for non-specialists as well. . . . His work makes clear what professional historians alas sometimes forget an enjoyable story need not be taboo."-Tertio Belgium * Tertio Belgium *

You may also be interested in...

Constantine the Emperor
Added to basket
The Case for God
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
Pagan Britain
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
A History of Christianity
Added to basket
Holy Warriors
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
An Atheist's History of Belief
Added to basket
History of the Jews
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
The Golden Bough
Added to basket
Christendom Destroyed
Added to basket
A Brief History of the Druids
Added to basket
Islam
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Great Transformation
Added to basket
Kabbalah: A Very Short Introduction
Added to basket
A New History of Early Christianity
Added to basket
Fields of Blood
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.