Midwinter Burning (Paperback)
  • Midwinter Burning (Paperback)
zoom

Midwinter Burning (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 256 Pages
Published: 03/11/2022
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A historical time-slip adventure for middle grade readers, from the Carnegie Medal-winning author of Apache and Buffalo Soldier.

Alfie Wright? Alfie Wrong, more like. Alfie has never really fitted in anywhere – he doesn't have any friends, and even his mum seems embarrassed of him. So when he’s evacuated to a farm in rural Devon run by kind old Aunt Bell and her gentle giant of a son, Alfie can’t believe his luck. The War seems a long way off, and among the cows and pigs and geese Alfie's happier than he’s ever been – especially when he makes friends with one of the local boys, Snidge. But Snidge, for all his friendliness, is not all he appears. And the mystery that surrounds him seems to be connected to the Midwinter Burning, an annual ritual held at the Standing Stones, high up on the cliffs. Aunt Bell says it’s all just a bit of harmless superstition, but when Snidge goes missing, Alfie finally discovers who his friend really is – and relives the true horror of the legend…

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406397185
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 180 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 14 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Landman is a natural storyteller, always engrossing. - The Times

A thrilling, compelling timeslip novel for 9+ from a Carnegie-winning author, with echoes of Goodnight Mr Tom and Stig of the Dump - Children and teens roundup, Guardian

a gripping, original blend of Goodnight Mr. Tom, and The Wicker Man […] An outstanding story about how courage can redeem both past and present. - New Statesman

featured in 'Young & YA Reads' list in BookTime - BookTime

"This exhilirating, historical time-slip adventure has moments of real terror as well as joy, and is perfect for fans of Phil Earle, Clive King, and Philippa Pearce." - Charlotte Eyre, The Bookseller

You may also be interested in...

Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Överlöde (Book 17)
Added to basket
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Astrochimp
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Powerless
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Pandas Who Promised
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
Added to basket
Fearless
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Bunny vs Monkey: The Impossible Pig
Added to basket
£9.99   £4.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Wolf Road
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Big Bearded Bookseller

“Stunning Mystery Adventure”

I loved Tanya’s previous books, especially Horse Boy, so was really pleased to get a chance to read her new one.

In Midwinter Burning we start of in prehistory and the scene is set for a midwinter offering, this sets... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“This time-shift story of two boys’ lives colliding between the outset of World War II and the Stone Age in Devon, South West England was a very enjoyable read indeed”

Alfie Wright (or ‘Wrong’ as the bullies call him), is a school boy from a broken home in London… he’s his mother’s “little accident. Spilled milk…”. Alone in the world, not knowing what the love of a family feels... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1
Chris Soul UK

“A stunning achievement: powerful, eerie and full of hope.”

'Midwinter Burning', a historical time-slip MG novel by Carnegie- medal winning author Tanya Landman, is a stunning achievement: hypnotic, eerie, warm and classic in tone.  A great transitional story for... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: