Midnight's Twins - City of Nightmares (Paperback)
  • Midnight's Twins - City of Nightmares (Paperback)
zoom

Midnight's Twins - City of Nightmares (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 11/06/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'Wildly imaginative ... A brilliant combination of urban fantasy and Arthurian legend, Midnight's Twins will appeal to fans of Gaiman's Neverwhere or Schwab's A Darker Shade Of Magic.' Katharine Corr, author of A THRONE OF SWANS 'A highly imaginative urban fantasy.' Bex Hogan, author of ISLES OF STORM AND SORROW 'Lyrical writing, powerful politics and epic world-building, Race's Midnight's Twins is a unique and vivid story of hope and belonging' Michelle Kenney, author of BOOK OF FIRE Dreams come true, but so do your nightmares ... Fern King is about to uncover a place that she could not have imagined in all her wildest dreams. Annwn is the dream mirror of our world, a place where Dreamers walk in their slumber, their dreams playing out all around them. An enchanted, mysterious place that feeds our own world - as without dreams, without a place where our imaginations and minds can be nourished, what kind of humans would we be? But Annwn is a place as full of dangers as it is wonders: it is a place where dreams can kill you. Annwn and its Dreamers are protected by an ancient order known as the Knights - and when Fern's hated twin Ollie is chosen to join their ranks, Fern will have to do whatever she can to prove she is one of them too. But the world Fern discovers in Annwn, in this dream mirror of her London, is a fragile one, threatened by vicious nightmares. Nightmares that are harder and harder for the Knights to defeat. Something dark is jeopardising the peace and stability of Annwn, something that must be rooted out at all costs. And gradually, Fern realises that the danger lurking inside our sleep is more insidious and terrifying than any nightmare. Because if you can influence someone's dreams, you can control their thoughts ...

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471409165
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 315 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Lyrical writing, powerful politics, & epic world-building, Race's Midnight's Twins is a unique and vivid story of hope & belonging, I couldn't put it down -- Michelle Kenney
Midnight's Twins had me gripped from the very first line. It's wildly imaginative, and I love that it's focused on the sibling bond (Fern and Ollie completely captured my heart!) and set in an alternative, dreamscaped London. The world building is excellent - the streets and inhabitants of Annwn really came to life in Race's prose. A brilliant combination of urban fantasy and Arthurian legend, Midnight's Twins will appeal to fans of Gaiman's Neverwhere or Schwab's A Darker Shade Of Magic. -- Katherine Corr
Holly Race's debut novel is a complex, inventive fantasy adventure that builds suspense and holds our attention...Race is an author to watch * BOOKS FOR KEEPS *
A gripping YA fantasy that plunges the reader into a nightmarish mirror world where dreams can literally kill you. I could not put it down. -- Elizabeth Corr

You may also be interested in...

The Hunger Games
Added to basket
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Supertato: Bubbly Troubly
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Witches Steeped in Gold
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Day I Fell Into a Fairytale
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dragon Legend
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
Dog Man 8: Fetch-22 (PB)
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising
Added to basket
Lies Like Poison
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Tom Gates 18: Ten Tremendous Tales (HB)
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

“refreshing fantasy”

This book was very good! From page 1 the fantasy grabs you and forces you to keep those pages turning. The world is unique, fast paced and full of an urban fantasy magic that we can all love. A fantastic start to what... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Love this book”

This unique book has an amazing storyline with a gripping writing style. This mix of teen fiction and young adults and would be perfect for readers who are just getting into reading. This book is great for expanding... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A book to savour”

An absorbing, thought-provoking and thoroughly enjoyable debut. The words dance off the page, drawing a detailed and beautifully realised world, at once cinematic and deeply, intensely personal.

Fern’s journey is a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.