Men, Women and Aggression (Hardback)
  • Men, Women and Aggression (Hardback)

Men, Women and Aggression (Hardback)

£12.99
Hardback Published: 30/04/1993
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

A look at gender differences employs candid interviews with ordinary men and women to offer a new understanding of aggression, asking why men are more aggressive than women.. Why are men more aggressive than women? To find out, the psychologist and criminologist Anne Campbell listened to the voices of ordinary men and women, as well as those people for whom aggression is a central fact of liferobbers and gang members. The answer, she argues, lies not only in biology or in child rearing, but in how men and women form opinions about their own aggression. Men, Women and Aggression reveals how mens and womens different views of anger and restraint profoundly affect all our relationships. }Why are men more aggressive than women? To find out, psychologist and criminologist Anne Campbell listened to the voices of ordinary men and women, as well as people for whom aggression is a central fact of liferobbers and gang members. The answer, she argues, lies not only in biology or in child rearing but in how men and women form opinions about their own aggression. Women believe their aggression results from a loss of self-control, while men see their behavior as a means of gaining control over others. Daughters are deeply ashamed when they get angry, but sons learn to associate aggression with integrity, courage, and triumph. Campbell shows how mens and womens different views of anger and restraint profoundly affect their actionsfrom rage in marriage to violence in the streetsand what this means for us all. The misreading of the meaning of aggression drives a wedge between the sexes, affecting everything from their ability to communicate with each other to the way that traditionally male-dominated spheres such as law or medicine pathologize and punish womens aggression. The book draws together two research areas that have had little dialogue with one anotheraggression and gender differencesto present for the first time a theory of their interrelationship. The book also reveals the links between criminal violence and psychological processes common to all of us. A major contribution in the tradition of You Just Dont Understand and In a Different Voice , this book offers a new understanding of a vital issue. }

Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
ISBN: 9780465092178

You may also be interested in...

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot