Ts&Cs apply
Memphis (Hardback)
  • Memphis (Hardback)
  • Memphis (Hardback)
  • Memphis (Hardback)
  • Memphis (Hardback)
  • Memphis (Hardback)
  • Memphis (Hardback)
zoom
Memphis (Hardback) Memphis (Hardback) Memphis (Hardback) Memphis (Hardback) Memphis (Hardback)

Memphis (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 272 Pages
Published: 07/04/2022

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Charting the story of three generations of women from a family in Memphis, Stringfellow‘s assured and evocative debut delivers an epic yet intimate history of black womanhood that is perfect for fans of The Vanishing Half and An American Marriage.

Shortlisted for The Waterstones Debut Fiction Prize 2022

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2023

Joan can't change her family's past. But she can create her future.

Joan was only a child the last time she visited Memphis. She doesn't remember the bustle of Beale Street on a summer's night. She doesn't know she's as likely to hear a gunshot ring out as the sound of children playing. How the smell of honeysuckle is almost overwhelming as she climbs the porch steps to the house where her mother grew up. But when the front door opens, she does remember Derek.

This house full of history is home to the women of the North family. They are no strangers to adversity; resilience runs in their blood. Fifty years ago, Hazel's husband was lynched by his all-white police squad, yet she made a life for herself and her daughters in the majestic house he built for them. August lives there still, running a salon where the neighbourhood women gather. And now this house is the only place Joan has left. It is in sketching portraits of the women in her life, her aunt and her mother, the women who come to have their hair done, the women who come to chat and gossip, that Joan begins laughing again, begins living.

Memphis is a celebration of the enduring strength of female bonds, of what we pass down, from mother to daughter. Epic in scope yet intimate in detail, it is a vivid portrait of three generations of a Southern black family, as well as an ode to the city they call home.

Publisher: John Murray Press
ISBN: 9781529339239
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 238 x 158 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

If ever there was a novel that reflects how the past can shape us, and how we can change our own story, it is this stunning debut . . . this beautifully written, inspiring story is full of hope and memorable characters - Books of the Year, Woman and Home

I fell in love with this book and its characters . . . I can't wait to read more from this author - Books of the Year, Prima

Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come . . . A stellar debut - Jacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone

In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women - and the North men - with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilience - Chloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists

An evocative, compelling tale . . . Tara M Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honorée Jeffers - Robert Jones, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of The Prophets

Memphis is at once a sprawling generational epic and an intimate character study . . . There is sorrow in these pages, but there is also joy and wit and warmth . . . incredibly satisfying [and] deeply affecting - Roxane Gay

A stunning debut, a deeply affecting portrait of familial bonds. Rich with indelible black women and Southern charm - Irenosen Okojie

Black American literature at its finest . . . a symphony of stories - Irish Independent

A rhapsodic hymn to Black women - The New York Times Book Review

Ferocious and compassionate . . . Stringfellow deftly weaves the voices of four vivid, formidable and funny women over three generations . . . Memphis reaches back to literary mothers and towards potential daughters, honouring the strength, creativity and resilience of Black women - Irish Times

I fell in love with this book by the end of the second paragraph. This story truly touched my soul. A talented new author who is definitely one to watch - Prima, Book of the Month

Charting the story of three generations of women from a family in Memphis, this debut delivers an epic yet intimate history of black womanhood - ideal for fans of The Vanishing Half and An American Marriage - Cosmo

If ever there was a novel that reflects how the past can shape us, and how we can change our story, it's this stunning debut . . . this beautifully told and inspiring story is full of hope - Woman and Home

An accomplished debut - Good Housekeeping

Engrossing . . . beautifully written prose, unforgettable characters, messages of sisterhood and community . . . The author shows tremendous insight into the effects of violence on Black women in America, told from a captivating Southern female perspective - Best Books of 2022, NPR

Richly impressionistic . . . Stringfellow demonstrates he erratic movements of history, the false starts and reversals and, yes, the moments of progress that are reflected in the haphazard march toward realizing King's vision for America - Washington Post

This vivid debut novel examines the tragedies, joys, and deep connections of one extraordinary Memphis family . . . A powerful family saga from a promising writer - Booklist

This poetic, multigenerational story is set in the ancestral Memphis home a mother and her daughters flee to to escape the father's violence. Spanning 70 years, and told through a variety of voices, this powerful debut novel encompasses race, class, and the legacy of trauma - Oprah Daily Most Anticipated

This beautifully written debut will transport, challenge and transfix you . . . The novel is an ode to the city and the Black women living there. There's a great sense of the women's enigma and enchantment, humour and fortitude - Adele Parks, Platinum Magazine

An incredible read - Bella

Stunning . . . a spectacular debut rich with Southern charm . . . a celebration of sisterhood and life - Voice Magazine

This book was stunning. The characters were vivid and alive, and the weaving between tales was thematic and effortless - Avalon, Aberystwyth Waterstones bookseller

A real celebration of Black women living in Memphis - deals with complex issues of race, class, love and loss in a beautiful way - Helen, Waterstones Events

I loved these larger than life, exuberant female characters - Clare, Farnham Waterstones bookseller

This book had me gripped from the start - incredibly moving! - Emily, Newport Waterstones bookseller

A superb book by an author who knows how to write brilliant characters - Ben, Chichester Waterstones bookseller

You may also be interested in...

The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Blue Sisters
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Time
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Before We Say Goodbye
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Wren, The Wren
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Funny Story
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
The List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Fourth Wing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Romany

“An emotional ode to black women”

My thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for this advance copy in exchange for an honest review.

An interesting novel, at times unsettling, dealing with the lives of three generations of a black family. It is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36
Katy Wheatley

“A Celebration of Black Women and Their Power”

I was utterly absorbed by this book. Following several generations of black women, Stringfellow weaves their stories together, flitting back and forth in time and between characters and events. This is a celebration... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 35

“A Strong Contemporary Saga Of Strong Memphis Women”

Tara M. Stringfellow’s debut novel focusing on three generations of a family living in Memphis could only have been written by a poet. There’s a voluptuousness to her words, a richness in description, an... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 33

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: