• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Time is running out, opt in before 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
Yes Please
Masters of the Word: How Media Shaped History (Paperback)
  • Masters of the Word: How Media Shaped History (Paperback)
zoom

Masters of the Word: How Media Shaped History (Paperback)

(author)
£16.99
Paperback Published: 01/05/2013
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

From the author of "A Splendid Exchange" comes a remarkable history of media - from the alphabet to the internet - that examines how it has shaped human society over millennia. In "Masters of the Word", Bernstein chronicles the development of the technology of human communication, or media, starting with the birth of writing thousands of years ago in Mesopotamia. In Sumer, and then Egypt, this revolutionary tool allowed rulers to extend their control far and wide, giving rise to the world's first empires. When Phoenician traders took their alphabet to Greece, literacy's first boom led to the birth of drama and democracy. In Rome, it helped spell the downfall of Empire. As Bernstein illustrates, new communication technologies - from the clay tablet to the radio - have all had a profound effect on human society. But it's not just the technologies themselves that have changed the world, it's access to them. Medieval scriptoria and vernacular bibles gave rise to religious dissent, but it was only when the combination of cheaper paper and Gutenberg's printing press drove down the cost of books by some 97 per cent that the dynamite of Reformation was lit. The Industrial Revolution brought the telegraph and the steam driven printing press, allowing information to move faster than ever before and to reach an even larger audience. But along with radio and television, these new technologies were more easily exploited by the powerful, as seen in Germany, the Soviet Union, even Rwanda, where radio incited genocide. With the rise of carbon duplicates (Russian samizdat), photocopying (the Pentagon Papers), and the internet and mobile phones (the Arab Spring), access has again spread and the world is both more connected, and more free, than ever before. It is suitable for readers of Jared Diamond and Bill Bryson.

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781782390015
Weight: 712 g
Dimensions: 233 x 156 x 33 mm
Edition: Export & Airside ed

You may also be interested in...

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls
Added to basket
The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain
Added to basket
The Hidden Ways
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Earth is Weeping
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
How to Change Your Mind
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Jane Austen at Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Square and the Tower
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Making Of The British Landscape
Added to basket
Good Night Stories For Rebel Girls 2
Added to basket
21 Lessons for the 21st Century
Added to basket
Women & Power
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
The Husband Hunters
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race
Added to basket
Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts
Added to basket
The Greedy Queen
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Arnhem
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.