Master of Thin Air: Life and Death on the World's Highest Peaks (Hardback)
  • Master of Thin Air: Life and Death on the World's Highest Peaks (Hardback)
zoom

Master of Thin Air: Life and Death on the World's Highest Peaks (Hardback)

(author), (foreword)
£18.99
Hardback 364 Pages / Published: 24/09/2015
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Named one of the "Five Adventure Books You Need to Read This Summer" by Backpacker Magazine For readers of Into Thin Air, riveting high-altitude drama and the passion and drive that inspire outsized mountaineering achievements. Master of Thin Air opens with a fall that the author very nearly could not stop down an almost vertical rock ramp leading to a three-thousand-foot drop. The qualities that saved him then on K2--in addition to his mountaineering know-how and sheer good luck--drove his sixteen-year journey to summit all of the world's eight-thousanders, the fourteen peaks that exceed 8,000 meters (26,000-plus feet) and take climbers into the death zone. Incredibly, he accomplished that feat without the aid of bottled oxygen for every mountain but one. By preference, he climbed solo or in small teams, without Sherpas. During twenty-three expeditions, he spent a total of three years clinging to the sides of dangerous mountains. He lost more than twenty climbing friends and, in April 2014, witnessed Everest's deadliest avalanche. His book is a riveting, often thrilling account of what it takes to challenge the Earth's highest peaks and survive. It tells of death-defying ascents and even riskier descents, the gut-dropping consequences of the smallest mistakes or even just bad luck, the camaraderie and human drama of expeditions, the exhilaration of altitude. It is also the inspiring story of what motivates a person to achieve an extraordinary dream, a story of passion, resourcefulness, self-motivation, and hope--even in the most dire moments. Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Sports Publishing imprint, is proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in sports--books about baseball, pro football, college football, pro and college basketball, hockey, or soccer, we have a book about your sport or your team. In addition to books on popular team sports, we also publish books for a wide variety of athletes and sports enthusiasts, including books on running, cycling, horseback riding, swimming, tennis, martial arts, golf, camping, hiking, aviation, boating, and so much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to publishing books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked by other publishers and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
ISBN: 9781628725735
Number of pages: 364
Weight: 567 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 33 mm

You may also be interested in...

Long Road from Jarrow
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Walker's Guide to Outdoor Clues and Signs
Added to basket
Hidden Nature
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Into Thin Air
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Touching The Void
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Ascent
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yorkshire Dales South & Western
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Sheet map, folded
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Around the World in 80 Days
Added to basket
Lakes SE
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Sheet map, folded
SAS Survival Guide
Added to basket
Land's End, Penzance and St Ives
Added to basket
The Scottish Bothy Bible
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.