Master of One (Hardback)
  • Master of One (Hardback)
zoom

Master of One (Hardback)

(author), (author)
£12.99 £9.99
Hardback 544 Pages / Published: 07/01/2021
  • Save £3.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Sinister sorcery. Gallows humor. A queer romance so glorious it could be right out of fae legend itself. Master of One is a fantasy unlike any other.

Rags is a thief-an excellent one. He's stolen into nobles' coffers, picked soldiers' pockets, and even liberated a ring or two off the fingers of passersby. Until he's caught by the Queensguard and forced to find an ancient fae relic for a sadistic royal sorcerer.

But Rags could never have guessed this "relic" would actually be a fae himself-a distractingly handsome, annoyingly perfect, ancient fae prince called Shining Talon. Good thing Rags can think on his toes, because things just get stranger from there...

With the heist and intrigue of Six of Crows and the dark fairy tale feel of The Cruel Prince, this young adult fantasy debut will have readers rooting for a pair of reluctant heroes as they take on a world-ending fae prophecy, a malicious royal plot, and, most dangerously of all, their feelings for each other.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062941442
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 588 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"By the end, readers will be itching for more... A captivating and satisfying queer fantasy." -- Kirkus Reviews
"Dazzling and creative... This sterling start to a high fantasy series features creative world-building, nuanced and witty characters, good versus evil, a perilous quest, and a touch of romance for both queer and straight characters. Recommended for most fantasy lovers." -- School Library Journal
"Masters of character-driven stories, Jones and Bennett yet again deliver with a foul-mouthed thief, an enchanting fae prince, a headstrong woman, and an ex-Queensguard, to name only a few...Though the dreamy fae-mortal romance doesn't flourish until the latter half, fans of the authors will happily subsist on the story's consistent sharp-witted voice alone." -- Booklist
"Classic YA fantasy tropes break into a fast-paced fantasy revolution whose heart, grit, and consequences are more than the sum of its parts... A smart, stakes-loaded LGBTQ fantasy well worth sticking with, for fans of Six of Crows and Megan Whalen Turner." -- Publishers Weekly
Praise for Jaida Jones and Danielle Bennett: "Havemercy is an absolute charmer of a book: at once exciting, romantic, and funny." -- Peter S. Beagle, author of The Last Unicorn
"These ladies write like a house on fire, delivering fantasy's most pleasant surprise since Temeraire himself took wing in 2006...An impressive debut." -- SFReviews.net
"Delicious! The characters are unique, entrancing and believable: dinner-party guests you never want to see go home. I will gladly walk again in this city, now that I know my way around." -- Ellen Kushner, author of The Privilege of the Sword
"A dazzling cast memorable characters! Havemercy is a wonderful debut from two talented new authors." -- Lynn Flewelling, author of Shadows Return
"[The authors] vividly convey the testosterone-saturated world of fantasy fighter pilots in this fast-paced debut." -- Publishers Weekly

You may also be interested in...

Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lord of the Rings
Added to basket
The Assassin's Blade
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Curse So Dark and Lonely
Added to basket
The Desolations of Devil's Acre
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Once Upon a Time in the North
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Book 2)
Added to basket
The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3)
Added to basket
Lyra's Oxford
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
The Deathless Girls
Added to basket
A Court of Frost and Starlight
Added to basket
The Gilded Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.