Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Martyr: John Shakespeare 1 - John Shakespeare (Paperback)
  • Martyr: John Shakespeare 1 - John Shakespeare (Paperback)
zoom

Martyr: John Shakespeare 1 - John Shakespeare (Paperback)

(author)
£2.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 20/12/2012
  • Not available

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, MARTYR is the first in Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times England is close to war. Within days the axe could fall on the neck of Mary Queen of Scots, and Spain is already gathering a battle fleet to avenge her. Tensions in Elizabeth I's government are at breaking point. At the eye of the storm is John Shakespeare, chief intelligencer in the secret service of Sir Francis Walsingham. When an intercept reveals a plot to assassinate England's 'sea dragon', Francis Drake, Shakespeare is ordered to protect him. With Drake on land fitting out his ships, he is frighteningly vulnerable. If he dies, England will be open to invasion. In a London rife with rumour, Shakespeare must decide which leads to follow, which to ignore. When a high-born young woman is found mutilated and murdered at an illicit printing house, it is political gunpowder - and he has no option but to investigate. But why is Shakespeare shadowed at every turn by the brutal Richard Topcliffe, the blood-drenched priest-hunter who claims intimacy with Queen Elizabeth herself? What is Topcliffe's interest in a housemaid, whose baby has been stolen? And where do two fugitive Jesuit priests fit into the puzzle, one happy to die for God, the other to kill for Him? From the splendour and intrigue of the royal court, to the sleek warships of Her Majesty's Navy and the teeming brothels of Southwark, Shakespeare soon learns that nothing is as it seems ...

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781848548800
Number of pages: 432
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

Heartstone
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
To Die But Once
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
His Bloody Project
Added to basket
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Revelation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Last Hours
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sovereign
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The House Between Tides
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Winter in Madrid
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dark Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The House Across the Street
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback

“Doublet and Dying”

Without so much as a prithee or a mayhap Rory Clements bursts on to the Tudorbethan mystery thriller scene with a stunning debut. Martyr is about murder, rape and the bitter struggle for whose God is best, but more... More

Paperback edition
5th April 2010
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Kept me engrossed”

I read Revenger first which did not spoil the reading of this one. I was delighted to have found another excellent author for the Tudor/Elizabethan 'who did it thriller'. Very easy to read and holds the... More

Paperback edition
24th September 2011
Helpful? Upvote 26

“Promising first Novel !”

Initially the book seems very much based on the C.J. Sansom series of Shardlake, although centred in the next historical episode of Queen Elizabeth.
However, it soon starts to develop its own wonderful style and... More

Paperback edition
9th May 2010
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.