Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery (Hardback)
  • Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery (Hardback)
zoom

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 13/05/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'The most fun I've had with a book this year. Every page is a delight' Stuart Turton, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

They were a band of mysterious private detectives who lived beneath the streets of London in a labyrinth of twisted tunnels and ancient hallways, the entrance to which no one had ever found...

London, 1958:

Elaborately disguised and hidden deep beneath the city's streets lies the world of Miss Brickett's, a secret detective agency. From traversing deceptive escape rooms full of baited traps and hidden dangers, to engineering almost magical mechanical gadgets, apprentice detectives at Miss Brickett's undergo rigorous training to equip them with the skills and knowledge they will need to solve the mysteries that confound London's police force.

But nothing can prepare 23-year-old apprentice Marion Lane for what happens after the arrest of her friend and mentor, Frank, on suspicion of murder: he tasks Marion with clearing his name and saving his life. Her investigation will place Marion and her friends in great peril as they venture into the forbidden maze of uncharted tunnels that surround Miss Brickett's. Being discovered out of bounds means immediate dismissal, but that is the least of Marion's problems when she discovered that the tunnels contain more than just secrets...

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder is the first installation in a fantastical historical mystery series for fans of Stuart Turton's The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and Natasha Pulley's The Watchmaker of Filigree Street.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409196631
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The most fun I've had with a book this year. Every page is a delight, the worldbuilding is wonderful, and the mystery got its hooks into me from the first chapter * Stuart Turton, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle *
Crackles with invention and surprise-the wondrous gadgetry, the moody settings, the endearing heroine and the struggles she's endured-and Willberg weaves it all together around a perfectly puzzling locked-room whodunnit * Matthew Sullivan, author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore *
A tantalizing, steampunk-flavored mystery... Delicious fun! * Helene Wecker, author of The Golem and the Jinni *

You may also be interested in...

The Doll Factory
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Glass House
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
This Lovely City
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lost Diary of Venice
Added to basket
The Emperor's Exile (Eagles of the Empire 19)
Added to basket
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
The King's Evil
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Archers: Ambridge At War
Added to basket
The Burial Circle
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Liar
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Vanished Bride
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A delightful surprise”

From the blurb, I was expecting Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder to be an Agatha Christie style detective crime thriller set in the fifties. Although this is true to a certain extent, this book holds a delightful... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Loved it!”

whodunit, inventions, investigation, 1950s, steampunk, clandestine-agency, London, locked-room-mystery, family-dynamics, friendship, murder, murder-investigation*****

Marion Lane is a new recruit in a clandestine... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.