Marge in Charge - Marge (Paperback)
  • Marge in Charge - Marge (Paperback)
zoom

Marge in Charge - Marge (Paperback)

(illustrator), (author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£5.99
Paperback 176 Pages / Published: 28/07/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
"Isla Fisher is hilarious" David Walliams "Charming, funny, delightful: Marge is the babysitter all children would wish for" David Baddiel Meet Marge, the mischievous babysitter with rainbow hair who loves to make a mess and bend the rules . . . At dinnertime Chef Marge cooks up chocolate soup, and at school Marge the Muscian conducts a chaotic concert in the playground! Jake and Jemima have brilliant fun with their new babysitter, but will they manage to tick off all the jobs on Mummy's list? The first fun family story in the MARGE IN CHARGE series, written by actor & comedian Isla Fisher and illustrated throughout by Eglantine Ceulemans.

Publisher: Templar Publishing
ISBN: 9781848125339
Number of pages: 176
Weight: 134 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 10 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This is a delightful collection of three short stories that children will love (...) Full of hilarity, this is a great debut book.' * parentsintouch.co.uk *
Fisher's debut novel, is the comic tale of an anarchic babysitter who causes mayhem. Perfect for reading aloud. * The Daily Express *
The plentiful illustrations and the length of the stories (individually about fifty pages each) will appeal to competent readers ready to embark on solo reading and Marge's crazy tales of pink flamingos and being sawn in half will entertain anyone who enjoys a giggle * Reading Zone *
The stories have a lovely family feel to them. Jake is a very 'real' little boy- certainly no angel. He won't eat broccoli and hates washing his hair, but Marge finds ways of making these fun things to do. Their warm relationship with Marge shows that older people can be fun to be around and celebrates cross generation relationships. Their parents are busy, but interested and loving - it's a happy home! The illustrations are delightful, bringing the characters to life and there are plenty of them, capturing the sense of fun in each story. There are three fun stories in this book, perfect for children starting to read independently and wanting achievable, satisfying stories * The Book Blog, North Somerset Teacher's Book Award *
Fisher has an incredible knack for comedy, and she's managed to transfer this to the page in a way which will make six to nine year old readers chuckle relentlessly' * Bath Life *
Imaginative and original tale for kids...an accessible, family friendly style making it perfect for parents to read out loud or for kids to read on their own -- Kathryn White * Kathryn's Inbox Website *
David Walliams possibly needs to move over slightly as Isla is definitely in charge! * Askew's Reader Development website *
It was a refreshing change to find Jemima, the child, cleaning up after Marge, the adult, falls asleep, Marge is one of those characters I can't wait to read more about. I think this is a series that could run and run * Serendipity Reviews Book Blog *
If Roald Dahl had written Mary Poppins - that's Isla Fisher's Marge in Charge. Con really loved reading this book for settle down time. Beautifully illustrated and split into three fun stories. Fans of Dahl and Walliams will need to read Marge in Charge. Highly Recommended!!! * Kid Cool Lit Book Blog *
Fresh, fun and family friendly stories * AGreatRead.co.uk *
An outrageously imaginative and original tale for kids ... and any adult who cares to join in...reminiscent to Roald Dahl... an accessible, family friendly style making it perfect for parents to read out loud or for kids to read on their own * Kathryn's Inbox *
Marge is the best babysitter ever! The illustrations definitely enhanced the hilarity of the story, I especially liked the 2 mice who kept appearing...Definitely hope to read more of Marge in the future! * Nayu's Reading Corner *
Loved this book, such a funny and engaging read! This will make a brilliant series of books for younger readers...I can think if quite a few children who would love Marge to babysit! Certainly recommended * Independent Book Reviews *
Three warm, funny stories of Saturnalian mischief * The Guardian, Review *
Marge is a gently anarchic heroine, and a welcome addition to Hollywood bedtime stories -- James Kidd * SCMP.com *
Children in the 6-10 year age range will have a great time reading about Marge in Charge but when they start to laugh out loud at some of the goings-on, be warned and make sure you let your next babysitter know they have been reading Marge in Charge! A great fun read for one and all * Blue Wolf Reviews *
Marge really is a babysitter like no other! * Parent Talk Magazine *
Marge in Charge is a hilarious, entertaining collection of stories about the magic that Marge brings to Jake and Jemima's life. Isla Fisher's stories about Marge will have children laughing out loud and wishing they had a babysitter who was this much fun * My Best Friends are Books *
In an effort to shake things up we have joined the local library and discovered some longer 'chapter stories' as Coco likes to call them. One such book that landed on my desk over the summer is Marge in Charge - which documents the adventures of a mischievous babysitter with rainbow-coloured hair. Penned by Isla Fisher - as in Isla Fisher of Home and Away - we have had such fun reading a few chapters of it every evening. * Sheerluxe.com *
Charming, funny, delightful: Marge is the babysitter all children would wish for. * David Baddiel *
Three hilarious, anarchic and charming MARGE stories from A-list actress, mother, writer and comedian Isla Fisher. Marge really is a babysitter like no other and the children spend a wild evening with her - racing snails, slurping chocolate soup and mixing potions in the bath! * Good Housekeeping *

You may also be interested in...

Head Kid
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The World's Worst Children 3
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
You're Called What?
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdown (book 13)
Added to basket
Oi Cat!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Tom Gates 15: What Monster?
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Demon Dentist
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist
Added to basket
There's A Yeti In The Playground!
Added to basket
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Tom Gates: Epic Adventure (kind of)
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Billionaire Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Oi Dog!
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback

Reviews

View all

“Funny!!!”

Loved this book, such a funny and engaging read!
This will make a brilliant series of books for younger readers...
I can think if quite a few children who would love Marge to babysit!
Certainly recommended.

Paperback edition
15th June 2016
Helpful? Upvote 37

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.