Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream (Hardback)
  • Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream (Hardback)
zoom

Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream (Hardback)

(author), (author), (author)
£18.99
Hardback 224 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami.

Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature.

In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country.

Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts-a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce.

* IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.
* TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.
* INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes.

Perfect for:

* Fans of culinary nonfiction
* Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen
* Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking

Publisher: Chronicle Books
ISBN: 9781797202242
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 490 g
Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 30 mm

You may also be interested in...

Every Grain of Rice
Added to basket
Our Korean Kitchen
Added to basket
Death by Burrito
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Moro Cookbook
Added to basket
£25.00
Paperback
Rosa's Thai Cafe
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Rick Stein: From Venice to Istanbul
Added to basket
Ceviche
Added to basket
£30.00
Hardback
Rick Stein's Spain
Added to basket
£30.00
Hardback
The Vietnamese Market Cookbook
Added to basket
Traditional Scottish Recipes
Added to basket
Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Vol.1
Added to basket
The Edible Atlas
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Made in India
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Gino's Italian Escape (Book 1)
Added to basket
Complete Chinese Cookbook
Added to basket
Rick Stein's Far Eastern Odyssey
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.