Malice: Book One of the Malice Duology - Malice Duology Series (Hardback)
  • Malice: Book One of the Malice Duology - Malice Duology Series (Hardback)
zoom

Malice: Book One of the Malice Duology - Malice Duology Series (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 480 Pages / Published: 13/04/2021
  • Not available

Currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

__________________________________________________________
The princess isn't supposed to fall for an evil sorceress. But in this darkly magical retelling of Sleeping Beauty, true love is more complicated than a simple fairy tale. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Holly Black.

'Malice is the dark and wicked heart of a fairytale carved into a book. This story is beautiful, vicious magic.' Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand

'A truly original and clever retelling of a classic that had me racing to the end - you'll never look at Sleeping Beauty the same again.' S.A. Chakraborty, author of City of Brass
__________________________________________________________

Once upon a time, there was a wicked fairy who cursed a line of princesses to die, and could only be broken by true love's kiss. You've heard this before, haven't you? The handsome prince. The happily-ever-after.

Utter nonsense.

Let me tell you, no one actually cares about what happens to our princesses. I thought I didn't care, either. Until I met her.

Princess Aurora. The last heir to the throne. The future queen her realm needs. One who isn't bothered that I am the Dark Grace, abhorred and feared for the mysterious dark magic that runs in my veins. Aurora says I should be proud of my gifts. That she . . . cares for me. Even though it was a power like mine that was responsible for her curse.

But with less than a year until that curse will kill her, any future I might see with Aurora is swiftly disintegrating - and she can't stand to kiss yet another insipid prince. I want to help her. If my power began her curse, perhaps it's what can lift it. Perhaps, together, we could forge a new world.

Nonsense again. Because we all know how this story ends, don't we? Aurora is the beautiful princess. And I-

I am the villain.

__________________________________________________________
'The story grows deliciously darker at every turn . . . Fairy tale lovers of all ages will be thrilled' Publishers Weekly, starred review

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781529101270
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 723 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 42 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Malice is the dark and wicked heart of a fairytale carved into a book. This story is beautiful, vicious magic * Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand *
A beautifully imaginative and feminist retelling of a fairytale so often swept into the dark. Walter's debut was engrossing from page one, with a vivid cast of characters, thrilling romance and a world so vivid it will wrap thorns around your dreams. * Roshani Chokshi, author of The Guilded Wolves *
A truly original and clever retelling of a classic that had me racing to the end - you'll never look at Sleeping Beauty the same again. * S.A. Chakraborty, author of City of Brass *
The story grows deliciously darker at every turn . . . Fairy tale lovers of all ages will be thrilled * Publishers Weekly, Starred Review *
Heather Walter writes about magic-and with magic. Her retelling of Sleeping Beauty remains true to the beloved classic, yet every page is completely new and unexpected. * Richelle Mead, author of the Vampire Academy series *
Enchanting - and enchanted . . . a book to savor * Louisa Morgan, author of The Secret History of Witches *
Bewitching characters. Fascinating story. An up-all-night read. Why are you not reading this book RIGHT NOW? * Tamora Pierce *
Absolutely dazzling! Full of love, power, and betrayal, Malice is as compelling as a spell, as captivating as an enchantment, and as fascinating and delicious as a fairy-tale curse. I loved it! * Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of the Queens Of Renthia series *
A spellbinding debut ... for all the queer girls and women who've been told to keep their gifts hidden and for those yearning to defy gravity. * Oprah Magazine *
Viciously satisfying. Malice takes Sleeping Beauty and turns everything on its head, cutting right to the core of this bejewelled world. Heather Walter has given us a villain to adore. * Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights *

You may also be interested in...

Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Threadneedle
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Toilet-bound Hanako-kun, Vol. 0
Added to basket
She Who Became the Sun
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Atlas Six
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Her Majesty's Royal Coven
Added to basket
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
Lore Olympus Volume Two: UK Edition
Added to basket
Dan at Cribbs Causeway, Bristol.

“Once upon a time....”

‘Once upon a time, a wicked fairy cursed a line of princesses to die. A curse that could only be broken by true love’s kiss.
Utter nonsense.
No one cares about what happens to our princesses. I thought I didn’t care,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Original but underwhelming for me”

This book sounded fantastic, I love the retellings of fairytales and I've not come across many sleeping beauty ones so was really looking forward to it. Sadly I was disappointed in it, the twist on a few of the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Absolutely fantastic”

This retelling was just magical.
I fell in love with Malice and her story.
It was one of the best twists I've read and the end was just perfect.
I would recommend it to anybody who loves a good fairytale retelling.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.