Magpie (Paperback)
  • Magpie (Paperback)
zoom

Magpie (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 28/11/2019
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Drenched in foreboding and an inescapable feeling of dread, Sophie Draper’s chilly domestic thriller uncovers double lives and dark secrets at the heart of a suburban family. Effortlessly keeping pace with her previous bestseller Cuckoo, Magpie refuses to relinquish its grip until the final page.

The haunting, twisty new psychological thriller from the author of Cuckoo

She's married to him. But does she know him at all?

Claire lives with her family in a beautiful house overlooking the water. But she feels as if she's married to a stranger - one who is leading a double life. As soon as she can get their son Joe away from him, she's determined to leave Duncan.

But finding out the truth about Duncan's secret life leads to consequences Claire never planned for. Now Joe is missing, and she's struggling to piece together the events of the night that tore them all apart.

Alone in an isolated cottage, hiding from Duncan, Claire tries to unravel the lies they've told each other, and themselves. Something happened to her family ... But can she face the truth?

A dark mystery with a twist - perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and C. J. Tudor. 

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008311315
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Chilling and heart-rending, a creepy, atmospheric story with a beautifully-drawn, bleak setting and memorably flawed characters.' - Roz Watkins

'Beautifully written, with a chilling mystery at its core, Magpie is a suspenseful and twisty pleasure of a read.' - Howard Linskey

You may also be interested in...

The Institute
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
V2
Added to basket
V2
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Burning
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
We Begin at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dear Child
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Burning
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback

“A deliciously creepy story”

I read, reviewed and loved Sophie's debut novel 'Cuckoo' and I couldn't wait to get hold of a copy of her follow up novel called 'Magpie'. It sounded like the deliciously creepy sort of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

“Powerful, dark and atmospheric novel set in rural Derbyshire”

My thanks to Avon Books U.K. for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘Magpie’ by Sophie Draper in exchange for an honest review.

Claire lives with her husband, Duncan, and teenage son, Joe, in a beautiful house in rural... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Atmospheric Compelling Story”

Magpie is a very atmospheric ,compelling story .Clair and Duncan and their teenage son Joe live in a fabulous converted barn overlooking a reservoir.It sounds idyllic but Clair hates the house and is only waiting... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.