Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance (Paperback)
  • Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance (Paperback)
zoom

Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 09/01/2020
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Smart and funny' – Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things

The first step was learning to read, but if she really wants to turn her life around, Maggsie is going to have to trust other people –and that might just be the hardest lesson she’s ever faced . . .

Small and dyslexic, with a short fuse, bad teeth, a prison record and something to prove, Marguerite McNaughton – Maggsie – doesn't need anybody or anything, thank you very much. She's more than capable of looking after herself.

She’s also about to discover that everyone needs someone, sometimes.
Even her.

The thing about trusting others, though, is that not everyone is trustworthy . . .

It starts when a fellow inmate gives Maggsie reading lessons. Then she's offered a job in London as a kitchen assistant, together with supported accommodation and a colleague who seems determined to befriend Maggsie, no matter what.

At first, Maggsie is convinced nothing will change.
Especially her.

But maybe this time can be different? Maybe Maggsie can be different – if she can just put her previous mistakes behind her and her trust in the right people.

Maggsie McNaughton'sSecond Chance, by Frances Maynard, is an uplifting, heartwarming novel about the power of friendship and the written word, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Home, Three Things about Elsie and Elizabeth is Missing.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529014150
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Smart and funny - Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things and Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel

Guaranteed to melt the hardest of hearts - Red Magazine

A joy from start to finish: quirky, real and moving, with unforgettable characters you’ll root for from the very beginning - Katy Regan, author of Little Big Love

Finished Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance and I feel bereft. A wonderful, uplifting read - Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl

Big-hearted and charming - James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me, on The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr

Wonderful - Rosie Walsh, author of The Man Who Didn't Call, on The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr

You may also be interested in...

Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Talking at Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Seventh Son
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
More Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
Brotherless Night
Added to basket
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Maggsie, another unforgettable character from Frances Maynard”

If you were captivated by the delightful Elvira, then prepare yourself for captivation again. Maggsie with her prison record and among other things a short fuse, doesn't need anybody, she can take care of... More

Hardback edition
7 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 19
Leti

“Captivating from the outset, moving, funny, and redemptive”

Maggsie M is a bundle of chaos when she starts her new life after prison. Opportunities can become dead-ends in the blink of an eye but challenges can also provide learning and that’s what Maggsie chooses. TJ is... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: