Find your perfect holiday reading
Lucky Ghost: The Martingale Cycle (Paperback)
  • Lucky Ghost: The Martingale Cycle (Paperback)
zoom

Lucky Ghost: The Martingale Cycle (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 11/01/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROR.

Early one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.

He smiles.

They've both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy - but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.

As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name 'Lucky Ghost'.

But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig - the online troll who's been harassing Alex for months.

Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek - or to their deaths?

LUCKY GHOST is part of the Martingale cycle, a series of interconnected novels exploring the life of computing pioneer and political radical Elyse Martingale - and her strange afterlife in the 21st century.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473624771
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 180 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An amazing book -- Trisha Goddard, BBC Radio London
A fantastic new novel * Bibi Lynch, Soho Radio *
A fascinating and hair-raising examination of just how much we are in thrall to computers, and how willingly we give up our privacy. * Guardian on SOCKPUPPET *
Embedded with techy jargon and shards of wit, Sockpuppet takes a snapshot of our age of online shaming and oversharing and runs it through a skewed, feverish filter. The result is compelling. * Financial Times on SOCKPUPPET *
A woven web of tech and trauma, human foibles and group shenanigans all mixed up into a beautiful hotpot of a story where nothing is ever quite as it seems * Liz Loves Books *
Nigh on impossible to put down once you've picked it up, it cements Matthew Blakstad's place as a writer of considerable talent, a writer who knows exactly how to grab his audience, and keep them involved - and highly entertained - until his story is done. * Reader Dad *
Lucky Ghost is way more visionary than its predecessor, Sockpuppet, yet its thought-provoking prophesy remains both powerful and effective * Little Bookness Lane *
Brave, bold and dare I say, even, ominous! . . . The Martingale Cycle is a wonderfully thrilling series * Cover to Cover *

You may also be interested in...

I Looked Away
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Knife
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Something in the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Long Night in Paris
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Lost Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The President is Missing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Our Friends in Berlin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Stranger Diaries
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Long Road to Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Fox
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Target: Alex Cross
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Overnight Kidnapper
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Whispering Stories

“It was hard work, but definitely enjoyable.”

Firstly a confession. I think I probably took about 8 weeks(ish) to read this book. For me, that is an exceptionally long time, especially when you consider that I normally get through at least two books per week. The... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.