Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 19th December 2nd Class | 20th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Lord of Secrets - The Empty Gods (Paperback)
  • Lord of Secrets - The Empty Gods (Paperback)
zoom

Lord of Secrets - The Empty Gods (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 06/02/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Deftly plotted and great fun' Guardian

Magic is poison. Secrets are power. Death is . . . complicated.

Outlaw wizard Corcoran Gray has enough problems. He's friendless, penniless and on the run from the tyrannical Mages' Guild - and with the search for his imprisoned grandfather looking hopeless, his situation can't get much worse.

So when a fugitive drops into his lap - literally - and gets them both arrested, it's the last straw - until Gray realises that runaway slave Brix could be the key to his grandfather's release. All he has to do is break out of prison, break into an ancient underground temple and avoid killing himself with his own magic in the process.
In theory, it's simple enough. But as secrets unfold and loyalties shift, Gray discovers something with the power to change the nature of life and death itself.

Now Gray must find a way to protect the people he loves, but it could cost him everything, even his soul . . .

With the humour of V.E. Schwab, the scale of Trudi Canavan and the deftness of Naomi Novik, Lord of Secrets is a heartwarming fantasy novel about saving the people you love without destroying the world (or yourself).

'A perfect mix of traditional and new' Charlie N. Holmberg, author of The Paper Magician

'A fast-paced necromantic adventure' Emily Tesh, author of Silver in the Wood

'All I want is the next book, NOW' K.A. Doore, author of The Perfect Assassin

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781787476257
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I loved it! It surprised me many times . . . Gray is relatable, sympathetic, and wholly likeable, and the rest of the cast was endearing. And the magic! It was a perfect mix of traditional and new. A fascinating take, really. * Charlie N. Holmberg, author of The Paper Magician *
Rich and satisfying . . . Teintze has concocted a fascinating world, with clever twists and loops to her plotting as well as a range of believable (and deeply likeable) characters * SFX *
Lord of Secrets is a fast-paced necromantic adventure. The characters are sharp, the dialogue is funny - and wow, Teintze can really write a monster! From the sadistic priest to the power-crazed wizard, from the delicate horrifying brilliance of her undead creations to the lurking, dreadful, beautiful monster at the heart of an ancient buried temple, I was alarmed and delighted at every turn * Emily Tesh, author of Silver in the Wood *
Lord of Secrets is a delightful necromantic romp through a dark and complex world with magic as boundless as it is painful, terrifying undead monstrosities, and secrets layered upon secrets which are so craftfully peeled away just in time for a bone-rattling, conclusion that all I want is the next book, NOW * K. A. Doore, author of The Perfect Assassin *
Deftly plotted and great fun * The Guardian *
A thoroughly refreshing and light-hearted romp of a novel . . . If you want an exuberant and upbeat fantasy, then this is definitely recommended * Birmingham SF Group *
In a word: great! . . . A dazzling debut! * Life Has a Funny Way *
After reading this, I felt refreshed and almost like a "faith restored" feeling for fantasy * Moon Kestrel *
Brilliantly witty and at times had me laughing out loud. I will definitely be reading the next in the series . . . This is an amazing debut and because of that I am giving it 5/5 stars. Perfect for fans of Sebatien De Castell's Greatcoats series * Crooks Books *
5 out of 5 * Dyslexic Reader *
A clever, interesting fantasy with complex characters and I would recommend this as a good read * Storgy *
A unique and magical book that had me hooked from the first line. I loved everything about this book and I highly recommend! * A Novel Purpose *
A good old fashioned fantasy quest for a magical object and very enjoyable it was too * Mug Full of Books *
A straight forward but brilliant story with fantastic characters and a protagonist that I loved * Laura Patricia Rose *
I am thoroughly recommending this book! If you like queer representation, grumpy badass wizards who make clever friends despite themselves, puzzles and traps and riddles and necromancy all tangled up together into a big old ball of deadly fun, then give Lord of Secrets a try * Dear Geek Place *
I greatly enjoyed this book and would recommend it * Blue Book Balloon *
A special kind of magic - a potion of revenge and redemption, a cocktail of sweet and sour and spicy, a spell of understanding, forgiveness and love, a curse of beginnings and ends * Cover to Cover *
An inventive empathetic fantasy novel filled by a host of great characters. The interplay between characters marks the novel as something special. This is a quest novel, where the quest isn't the imperative, lending truth to the idea that it's not the destination but the journey. An absorbing novel from start to finish, I can't wait to see what Teintze does next * GeekDad *

You may also be interested in...

The Name of the Wind
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
£32.00   £27.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Tolkien Calendar 2020
Added to basket
Dungeons & Dragons Starter Box
Added to basket
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Skyward
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Starsight
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Rivers of London
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heather

“Not for me”

I tried really hard to like this book, but most of the time I was confused. In terms of the opening, I appreciate the author thrusting the reader straight into the action, but I initially didn’t have much to go on in... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Fun, compelling fantasy”

This is a book that has everything i have been loving about recent fantasy. Adventure, characters that are believable and flawed, a magical premise that is unique and interesting, and humour, dry, witty, snot... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3
Catriona at Waterstones Head Office

“Fast, fun fantasy”

Thoroughly enjoyed this, I found the soul magic quite unique in the genre and really enjoyed it. Loved the characters, great pace and magic, not much world building, just a touch of romance, but a fun fantasy filled... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.