Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
Little Pea (Hardback)
  • Little Pea (Hardback)
zoom

Little Pea (Hardback)

(author)
£9.99
Hardback 36 Pages / Published: 29/08/2008
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Little Pea hates eating candy for dinner, but his parents will not let him have his spinach dessert until he cleans his plate.

Publisher: Chronicle Books
ISBN: 9780811846585
Number of pages: 36
Weight: 292 g
Dimensions: 213 x 210 x 9 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A crowd pleaser in the tradition of Mitchell Sharmat's Gregory, The Terrible Eater (1980), illustrated by Jose Aruego and Ariane Dewey, this simply told and illustrated episode features both a decidedly atypical family (all head, no body) facing a similar dinnertime issue, and a delicious final twist. Little Pea's generally a happy legume, hanging with friends, rolling down hills, and being catapulted off a spoon by Papa Pea--but meals are always fraught, for Little Pea hates candy, which as you know (you didn't?) is all that peas eat. "If you don't finish your candy, you can't have dessert," says Mama Pea. Negotiating his quota down to five cellophane-wrapped pieces, Little Pea proceeds to choke them down--"Three. Plck. Four. Pleh."--then jumps for joy at dessert's arrival--a heaping bowl of spinach. Expect bursts of hilarity from young listeners, picky eaters or no. Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Picky eaters will enjoy the subtle humor of this topsy-turvy tale." School Library Journal


"Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Jen Corace strike beautiful balance between story and art in 'Little Pea' (2005), a book that pedagogues might point out teaches basic physics and math while poking fun at picky eaters. This critic prefers to describe it as a family portrait of legumes in which the baby has to eat all his candy in order to get spinach for dessert." The New York Times

You may also be interested in...

Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
Queen of Air and Darkness
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
The Squirrels Who Squabbled
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Gangsta Granny
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Zog Christmas
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Children 3
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdown (book 13)
Added to basket
The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Polar Express
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
You're Called What?
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.