Little Friends (Paperback)
  • Little Friends (Paperback)
zoom

Little Friends (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 20/02/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

THE STUNNING NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB SENSATION DAUGHTER

'Extremely clever, readable and elegant ... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best' Suzy K Quinn, bestselling author of Don't Tell Teacher

Their children are friends first. They hit it off immediately, as kids do. And so the parents are forced to get to know each other. Three wildly different couples. Three marriages, floundering.

There are barbecues, dinner parties, a holiday in Greece. An affair begins, resentments flare, and despite it all the three women become closer.

Unnoticed, their children run wild. The couples are so busy watching each other that they forget to watch their children.

Until tragedy strikes.

Because while they have been looking the other way, evil has crept into their safe little world and every parent's biggest nightmare is about to come true...

'Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!!' Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me

'Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps' Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes


What readers are saying about Little Friends:

'I loved this book - it thrilled me, it chilled me' ***** Cheryl, Netgalley Reviewer

It's impossible to put down as you desperately want to know what happens next' ***** Ceecee, Netgalley Reviewer

'Dark and electrifying' ***** Vikki, Netgalley reviewer

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780718180911
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 266 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Little Friends is beautifully written and suffused with dread. Jane Shemilt's compelling literary thriller explores with acuity the pressure cooker challenges of adult responsibility, and the assumptions we make. The domestic settings are seductively vivid and the final outcome is profoundly shocking and terrifying -- Gilly Macmillan, author of The Nanny
Extremely clever, readable and elegant... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best -- #1 eBook bestseller Suzy K Quinn
Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!! -- Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me
Little Friends taps into your darkest fears. Beautifully told, with a rich cast of characters, I couldn't put it down -- Rachel Blok, author of Under the Ice
Little Friends is beautifully written. I was in the kitchen; in the garden; on holiday with all the characters. And I was there at the fallout. Jane Shemilt has a talent for taking you into her world - but be careful. It might not be what you think... -- Sunday Times bestseller Jane Corry
The plot was breathlessly gripping, with an emotional punch that turned the last couple of chapters into a teary blur -- Sarah Naughton, author of The Hanged Man Rises
Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps. Highly recommended! -- Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes
A fierce reminder that control is only an illusion * The Book Review Hub *
A compelling, disturbing and beautifully told story. I loved Jane's debut Daughter and adored The Drowning Lesson but Jane has topped them both with Little Friends -- Diane Jeffrey, author of He Will Find You
Countless psychological thrillers get compared to Big Little Lies; Shemilt's is the real deal * People *
Surefire suspense [. . .] riveting creepiness * New York Times *
A fantastically clever novel with some wonderful twists * Jo's Book Blog *
Praise for Jane Shemilt * - *
A compelling sense of place, good twists, and a tense, intense ending -- Sarah Vaughan, bestselling author of Anatomy of a Scandal
We absolutely loved this -- Richard & Judy Book Club
Thrilling * Sunday Express *
Builds layer upon layer of tension in a novel you won't be able to put down -- Tess Gerritsen, bestselling author of I Know a Secret
Utterly gripping. A tautly-coiled spring of suspicion and suspense which builds to a devastating ending * Mail on Sunday *
A dark and twisty tale * Heat *
Well-written, taut and tense -- Wendy Holden * Daily Mail *
Taut and thought-provoking * Woman & Home *
Gripping to the last page * My Weekly *
Suspenseful, brooding * Sunday Mirror *
Clever * Sun *

You may also be interested in...

Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Therapist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
BOX 88
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Missing Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Little Friends”

Eve's daughter, Poppy is dyslexic. She takes a qualification in dyslexia to help her and sets up a little class for dyslexic children in her home. Soon the children become friends and their parents follow in... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

“Very compelling read”

This is what I would describe as an ‘iceberg’ novel as so much is hidden beneath an apparently smooth surface. Eve Kershaw's daughter Poppy is dyslexic and so she takes a qualification so she can help her and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Disappointing.”

I have previously read several Jane Shemilt novels which I really enjoyed, so was looking forward to reading this one but I did not think it was her best.
In my opinion the story started off slowly and I thought the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.