Lily's War (Paperback)
  • Lily's War (Paperback)
zoom

Lily's War (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 23/01/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
An uplifting and inspiring World War II saga for readers of Nancy Revell and Annie Groves. 1942, Manchester World War Two is in full swing and Lily Mullins is determined to do her bit for the war effort. Her friends and sweetheart have all joined up and Lily's sure there must be a role for her that goes further than knitting socks for the troops! When she decides to volunteer for the Women's Auxiliary Air Force, Lily soon discovers that she has a talent as a wireless operator. Helped along the way by a special gang of girls, she finds strengths she didn't know she had and realises that the safety of the country might just be in her hands . . . Meanwhile, Danny is determined to marry Lily, but his letters home become more and more distant. Will a long separation mean the end of their love story? An uplifting and inspiring novel of women on the home front. Don't miss Bobby's War, and Hannah's War, available now. - - - - - '[The story] read so true to me and I really didn't want to put it down . . . It may be fiction but those things could, and did, happen.' Vera Morgan, wartime WAAF 'An impeccably researched and uplifting story of love, loss and courage: a heartwarming read that will captivate all those who love a good war story.' Clare Harvey, author of The Gunner Girl 'A wonderful, inspiring story. I can't wait to read more from Shirley Mann.' Sheila Newberry 'I found this book hard to put down and it resonates with me still.' Katie Hutton, author of The Gypsy Bride

Publisher: Zaffre
ISBN: 9781785769375
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 315 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
With drama, intrigue, friendship and a cast of vibrant characters all playing supporting roles, this is a compelling and entertaining debut novel, and the perfect uplifting read for long winter nights. * Lancashire Evening Post *
In her debut novel Shirley Mann skillfully draws on her parents' wartime romance for this heartwarming story of love in such testing circumstances * Scottish Daily Mail *
I found this book hard to put down and it resonates with me still. * Katie Hutton, author of The Gypsy Bride *
[The story] read so true to me and I really didn't want to put it down . . . It may be fiction but those things could, and did, happen. * Vera Morgan, wartime WAAF *
An impeccably researched and uplifting story of love, loss and courage: a heartwarming read that will captivate all those who love a good war story. * Clare Harvey, author of The Gunner Girl *
A wonderful, inspiring story. I can't wait to read more from Shirley Mann. * Sheila Newberry, author of The Nursemaid's Secret *

You may also be interested in...

Ridge Hill
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Black Moon
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Born In Fire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
Cities of the Plain
Added to basket
The Valley of Horses
Added to basket
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Mother's Struggle
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Our Little Secret
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Daughter's Disgrace
Added to basket

“Lily's War, a great first novel about a young woman's experience in the 2nd World War”

Lily’s War’, by Shirley Mann, is the story of a young couple from Manchester whose romance is interrupted by the Second World War, when Lily joins Bomber Command as a WAAF, seeing war as the opportunity for... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Lily’s War - charming and poignant story”

As soon as you meet the characters in this book you feel you know them yet want to know more, travelling with them on their very varied but intertwined journeys during WW11. It is not a harrowing wartime read but a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“A thoght provoking novel”

For those who are children and grandchildren of parents that lived through the war, this is an insight into part of their lives which they rarely discuss.
This novel beautifully evokes the everyday ‘settled’ life... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.