Life Sentence - Cassie Raven (Paperback)
  • Life Sentence - Cassie Raven (Paperback)
zoom

Life Sentence - Cassie Raven (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 14/04/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
SUNDAY TIMES' CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH - 'SUPERB' JOAN SMITH, SUNDAY TIMES 'I LOVE THIS SERIES!' ELLY GRIFFITHS 'ENGROSSING, SHARP, UTTERLY ORIGINAL' TAMMY COHEN 'A MUST-READ SERIES' JAMES OSWALD 'CASSIE RAVEN IS MY FAVOURITE NEW CHARACTER' WILLIAM SHAW 'WARM, ENGAGING AND ORIGINAL' MARI HANNAH 'AN ENGROSSING AND INTRIGUING READ' FAITH MARTIN 'TWISTY AND TREMENDOUS' MARA TIMON Camden mortuary technician Cassie Raven returns to solve another ingenious forensic mystery. Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen, Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs. Mortuary technician Cassie Raven believes the last thoughts of the dead linger like static in the air... Cassie has always had a strange affinity with death, ever since her parents were killed in a car crash when she was four. At least that's what she grew up believing... But that was a lie. Cassie's father is alive. He was convicted of murdering her mother and spent years behind bars. Now he's out - and he's looking for her. He swears he didn't do it. And Cassie wants to believe him. To find the truth, she must turn detective. As she seeks answers, help is to be found in inexplicable places - for the dead are ready to talk. PRAISE FOR THE CASSIE RAVEN SERIES: 'Spellbinding storytelling' Val McDermid 'Like Silent Witness but more believable' Susi Holliday 'Blackly humorous, with a fabulously one-of-a-kind protagonist' Heat Magazine '[A] gritty novel with an engaging heroine' Sunday Times 'Ingenious and sardonically written' Financial Times 'Cassie Raven is an utterly compelling contemporary forensic heroine' Isabelle Grey 'A fresh and exciting new series' Claire McGowan 'One of the best series openers I've read in years' Jane Casey 'Cassie Raven is a blast of fresh air, striding onto the crime scene like a punk superstar' Sarah Hilary

Publisher: Zaffre
ISBN: 9781838774783
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Superb ... The second volume in Turner's Cassie Raven series is every bit as good as the first -- Joan Smith * Sunday Times *
A forensic thriller of quiet assurance, and Cassie is a distinctive, authoritatively realised protagonist -- Barry Forshaw * Financial Times *
I love this series! * Elly Griffiths *
Engrossing, sharp, utterly original. Cassie Raven is the forensic heroine we didn't know we needed * Tammy Cohen *
A must-read series now. The setting, the pacing and the wonderful cast of characters are all pitch perfect * James Oswald *
AK Turner is a classy writer who has created a warm, engaging and original lead character in Cassie Raven. If you want something different look no further * Mari Hannah *
An engrossing and intriguing read * Faith Martin *
Cassie Raven is my favourite new character in British crime writing * William Shaw *
AK Turner has done it again ... If you loved Body Language, then strap yourself in for the ride - Life Sentence is even better. Twisty and tremendous! * Mara Timon *
We predict you'll fly through it as quickly as we did...You'll root for Cassie and her determination to find answers * Belfast Telegraph *
A. K. Turner spins science into spellbinding storytelling * Val McDermid on Body Language *
Introduces us to a fabulously one-of-a-kind protagonist. Blackly humorous, we're so ready for more * HEAT magazine on Body Language *
An immersive world with a fascinating lead, this makes for a fresh and exciting new series * Claire McGowan on Body Language *
What a start to a new series, full of verve and acutely perceptive on grief and human relationships. Cassie Raven is a blast of fresh air, striding onto the crime scene like a punk superstar, ready to shake things up * Sarah Hilary on Body Language *
A stellar example of the forensic-medical crime genre. Impeccably researched, with fascinating insights and a truly memorable, original heroine, this is one of the best series openers I've read in years * Jane Casey on Body Language *
Move over Silent Witness - Cassie Raven is an utterly compelling contemporary forensic heroine * Isabelle Grey on Body Language *
Had the pleasure of reading this little beauty by AK Turner and I loved it. It was awesome! Dark humour and gore galore - Cassie Raven is my new favourite character. The mortuary scenes were so vivid - it was like Silent Witness but much more believable * Susi Holliday on Body Language *
A terrific, well-paced plot and the tight focus on the mortuary setting works really well to ground the action...[Turner] is adept at creating memorable characters * The Spectator on Body Language *
The writing is classy and accessible. The plot just zips along at a good pace...The characterisation is great too... it's got off to a cracking start and I can't wait for the next book in the series. * The Bookbag on Body Language *
Terrific central character of Cassie Raven...beautifully rounded and believable...a complex young woman who is nevertheless a lot of fun to spend time with. Turner also deals with the sensitive subjects of death and grief with real empathy and respect * The Big Issue on Body Language *
A cracking read. When's the next one out? * Woman's Way on Body Language *

You may also be interested in...

The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
1979
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Plenty of nostalgia for the 90’s & highly recommended”

This is the second book in the series featuring Cassie Raven. She is a mortuary technician in Camden. A pure Goth &, oh, she hears the dead talk. Of course, there is a backstory concerning the main characters but... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Cassie is back ”

I loved Body Language the first in the Cassie Raven series, so when I got an email through for a chance to be on the book tour for Life Sentence. I replied back super quick and crossed all my fingers and toes. And,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Writing that pulls you in with an edgy style and intricate plotting”

I absolutely adored Body Language, the first in this series about Cassie Raven, Senior mortuary technician, goth and body whisperer – and this second outing with Life Sentence does not disappoint.

This time the case... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.